Broadband?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Okay finally, a company has come forth where I live and offered a Wireless Broadband service, I naturally, jumped on it. I haven't got it installed yet but I have a few questions before i actually get it done.

First of all I got a 256k/256k upload/download package... will this be good for gaming? That is what I mostly do. What kind of ping/latency could I expect from this.

When it does get installed the main dish thing will only be about 200 yards from my house, it will send the signal to a dish thing on my roof (or at least that is how i understand it). Will this make it any faster/slower?

I'm just really curious to see what kind of speeds i will get.

Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
If this is satellite internet, do not expect a good gaming experience....dialup will often be better. Satellite internet has a slow packet update rate, which is very bad for fast-paced games, like First Person Shooters, and Strategy games. If you're playing RPG's though, then it will be worth it, because they dont need to have their data updated as frequently.

Your actual downloads will go faster, and website will load quicker, but gaming will be horrible.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
No it's not satelite, satelite has uploads of 56k standards. This is 256k upload, and is wireless broadband from a reciever 200 yards away to a reciever on my house. So how will that be? It's not to a satelite in the sky so it doesn't have the terrible uploads. It's just to the reciever 200 yards away from my house.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Messages
1,240
Well depends on if its a A B or G setup for the wireless. Since i assume you have to have a wireless card and they'd let you know what it supports. As well hopefully you don't have anything like a tree in the way, cause that will interfere with the signal. So it should be good to ehh :).
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
I guess the signal comes from a station that they have set up (200 yards away). That goes to a thing on my roof, which then goes via ethernet cable, to the back of my pc.

The station is also at a high altitude (small town surrounded by mountaints), so there isnt much that can interupt the signal besides a storm.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Also, i think what they have is basically a t1 or t3 line and just using the wireless part to get people the signal from their stations. The best package was 34.99 a month for 256k upload and 256k download.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
Messages
81
256k up and down is not bad, but it's certainly not the greatest. It's sort of way better than 56k but not up to par with most broadband services. It will be a pretty good gaming experience though you may get some lag with large games.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top