1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Browse but no Ping

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by nathandiehl, May 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nathandiehl

    nathandiehl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    I've got a WinXP machine that has worked great for three months, and now, PING will not work, but browsing the same sites does work.
    what gives?
     
  2. bigtuna420

    bigtuna420

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    66
    what sites are they? some sites will not allow you to ping their servers.
     
  3. yul

    yul

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    try pinging yahoo.

    what happens when u try to ping the "sites"?any message? or response?
     
  4. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    When you try Yahoo, try it both ways. If you can get through one way but not the other, some settings are probably wrong.

    www.yahoo.com
    64.58.76.231


    sekirt
     
  5. OlTramp

    OlTramp

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Chances are if you go in to your adapter settings you'll find ICMP is blocked. A good thing since you can't be pinged. If you want to ping just enable it.
     
  6. nathandiehl

    nathandiehl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    i am unable to ping to www.yahoo.com (i get the error 'ping unable to locate server www.yahoo.com...') but i am able to ping using the IP address 64.58.76.231.
    the built-in firewall is disabled. i am going through an old exchange server, using its firewall. i have one other xp machine routing through that old server, and everything seems to be working fine on it.
    any ideas on what settings might be wrong?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/131702

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice