browser doesn't work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jmfran0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
20
Win xp on dell dem 4600. Pent 4 2.8 ghz , 2.5 gb ram


my browsers won't connect to the Internet. I have tried netscape, IE, firefix. I get "websight not found, check Internet connection" My computer is directly connected through cable modem. No router or local network is used. The computer connection is intact and pings without problem. Sometimes the browser will connect for a short period of time and then quits. I do not have any installed toolbars. If I log into my VPN account, everything works fine, even if I close the VPN or use an incorrect password and am denied entry. I seem that all that is required is the configuration by the VPN. The browsers continue to work until the computer is rebooted. I have run antimalware, spybot, and avg without virus detected. I have had our head IT technition look at the computer and he is stumped. I no longer have the VPN connection so I have use a diffrent computer.
Any suggestions?
 

Jmfran0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
20
I tried winsockxpfix but to no avail.

I have the default ip gateway address. what do I need to do with it?
 

Jmfran0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
20
I am unable to acces the Internet from my computer. Currently using iPhone. is thee anything on particular you are looking for ?
 

Jmfran0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
20
I was able to copy this through another computer. Here is my ipconfig /all log.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.140.129.11
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.224.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 74.140.128.1

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>/all
'/all' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DJH0RM41
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-D8-31-AD
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.140.129.11
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.224.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 74.140.128.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.131.0.18
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.131.0.20
74.131.0.21
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 25, 2008 4:50:52
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, September 30, 2008 4:50:52
PM

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>
 

Jmfran0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
20
I need an administrator to please move this thread to the appropriate forum. Thanks for your help.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
JohnWill


Moderator with 78,248 posts.
Maybe send JohnWill a PM and ask him to move you :)
Or he will probably just help you, he is a network MASTER, unbelievable what he knows, read some of his posts :)

*And Sorry John if this is the wrong protocol for this,
please let me know if it is so I can do it better or more correcter, LOL
 

Jmfran0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
20
Uninstalled service pack 3 and inernet works fine now. Question is should I reinstall?
 

Jmfran0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
20
Well, internet worked for about 30 min then the browsers no longer connect. As of note, all other connectors also do not work (Itunes, Gametap, avg update) which is not new to this situation. I can ping my computer IP and default IP as well as yahoo ip but not yahoo.com Dont know if this provides any help.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Well, the fact that you can't ping Yahoo by name would indicate a DNS issue.

I'm leaning to malware since this runs for some period of time, then stops.


Please post a HijackThis 2.00.2 Log here.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top