Browser drops out after 2 hours

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Joe Rhodon

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
2
I am still on dial up with Virgin (broadband not available in my area) when downloading updates the browser shuts down after 2 hours when downloading has not completed and will not restart downloads when redialing Helpplease
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Get Stay Live 2000

Stay Live 2000 keeps your Internet Dial-Up Connection active and on-line by periodically sending a small TCP/IP packet to one of the many Atomic Clocks maintained by the United States Government. Sending these small packets prevents your ISP from dropping your connection due to inactivity.
 

Joe Rhodon

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
2
Have tried "Stay Alive" with no success. Browser is active and downloading when it drops out . I have downloads of over 2 hours
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,764
If I recall rightly Virgin dial up will always disconnect you after 2 hours, regardless
of whether the connection is active or not, forcing you to reconnect.

Downloads needed careful planning in those days.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Not much you can do if Virgin dial up will always disconnect you after 2 hours no matter what but get another ISP that "Stay Alive" will work on because they will not drop you.
I know back when I had Dial-Up it was a pain and I did not ever get any of the MS updates but I had 95 and later 98SE for a short time before getting cable. But I click around the web every now and then to keep things alive when I had bigger downloads.

But maybe a download manager will help you out.
http://lists.thedatalist.com/pages/Download_Tools.php

I never used them but there are many and some say you can resume broken download.
Try "FlashGet"
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,941
AOL's UK dialup will stay active for more than two hours (if you're lucky!) as its crashes appear to be accidental, rather than by design due to a fixed time limit.

I have been able to get all the necessary Windows updates without problems (although I have not attempted the ludicrous XP SP3, because I don't need/want it). I am aware of the invasive nature of AOL's software but I don't use it, or its lame IE based browser.

I can get online direct, using Opera, although the connection is via a Carphone Warehouse subsidiary which now seems to be handling AOL's UK dialup operation.

PS. In fact I sometimes leave the AOL software open, but inactive, and when it crashes, my Opera session remains alive, as it is now since AOL closed some time ago!. Obviously, this won't help you with Windows Updates when you have to use IE and an AOL crash will take IE with it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top