browser gets pooped out

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nova13

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
9
I don't think this problem is related to other one I had concerning system resources. This seems to be related specifically to the browser. It's IE 5. Sometimes when clicking on a new link or webpage, the browser doesn't seem to do anything. It just doesn't seem to work at all- there's no indication of activity. Then after a while it will suddenly start up, and it will find pages very quickly. I can go on clicking on new links and bringing up new webpages with no problem. But it eventually goes back to sleep on me again, and I'll have to wait a while for the browser to get "charged up" or something before it will work again.
When loading the Internet provider software earlier, I accidentally downloaded Netscape Navigator with it, and had all sorts of problems until I finally removed it and reverted to IE5. I wonder if some Navigator file could be still in there somewhere mucking things up?
The computer is a Dell Pentium II 450mhz, 192 mb ram, Win 98.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, One pc I use at home has the same symptoms....I switched mouse, ran the IE repair tool, installed IE6.0, reinstalled ISP, checked everything over, but it still does it. We may have to collaborate...
In my experience, these things are caused by some Internet settings getting changed....it can be pretty frustrating hunting it down, too.
By any chance do you have a firewall set up?

Try this: Internet Explorer Tools, up at top, select Internet Options>Programs tab....click "Reset Web Settings" with a click in the box for IE..... This will change your Homepage, but you can reset that from the same window.....
 

Nova13

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
9
A firewall- is that like a virus alert thing? Sorry, I've been using computers several years and know a lot of basics, but I'm no expert, obviously. I recently bought this computer from a friend, and he set up everything on it for me. He said I should get myself an anti-virus but I've never gotten around to it.
One other thing I've noticed with this has to do with messageboards such as this one. I visit several messageboards, and after entering one of the forums, when I go back to the main menu, all the dates will have reverted back to a few days ago. That is, the main menu of the messageboard will revert back to its appearance of a few days previous, unless I enter one of the forums or click the refresh button. I think this may be related.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, No, a firewall puts some software between you and the Net, prevents some intrusions....they also can prevent some browsing...but, if you are REACHING all the sites you need to, that probably is not it....do you see Zone Alarm (its a free firewall lots of us use) in Programs list? Black Ice Defender?
Those are just 2 of good free ones...you may not have any. Yes, you definitely should have some antivirus program....no telling what is on the pc you were given. How about a free online scan? www.housecall.antivirus.com
Just follow the instructions. It takes a good while to download the controls and updates, but worth the wait, during which you can browse around, just dont close that page....when the SCAN button is fully darkened, you are ready to scan...set it to "MY COMPUTER", uncheck the CD drive and floppy, unless you have disks to check, too (not a bad idea)....
It may seem to take forever and stick at 95%, but will eventually finish downloading the updated scan files....then, you can scan your system while online....this does NOT install any antivirus program to your hard drive!!! There are many free good programs....which will come later.
Let us know the results. You may uncheck the button to Automatically fix viruses.....until you check back.
 

Nova13

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
9
I know you said it seems like forever, and sticks at 95%, but approximately how long should a person expect to wait? I tried it twice- the first time, after waiting a very long time with it stuck at 95%, it said that the files failed to load. The second time just went on and on- over half an hour- with it stuck at 95%, and during this time my internet call manager was knocked out and I was unable to load any web pages. I'm wondering if this is normal. Should it remain at 95% for over half an hour, and if so, approximately how much longer? My connection is a 56K modem. I will need to schedule some free time in order to do this if this is any indication of the length of time each step of the process requires.
There do not appear to be any firewalls set up. Thanks again.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
I don't think it should take quite that long, no- when there are problems, the Housecall scan will not work well.
You can try again later, or not as you wish. There are other online scans that may run better, Housecall is a real good one, but here is another: www.pandasoftware.com
Look down the page on the left.....It;s the ActiveScan box you want, follow the prompts from there....again, these take some time to load.....with the shape you are in, it may take the same as Housecall.
Have you ever checked for spyware on this pc? SpyBot will remove this.....it may be what is affecting your Internet performance.
It is available here: http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/index.html

You download it to the desktop, run it to install....then, go online and see if it needs an update...usually it will not, as latest info is included.....you start the program from the new Desktop icon it installs.....have it check for problems.....anything it finds with a checkmark in it should be removed. You can uncheck "System Internals" and the User lists under "File Sets"- these are only your Internet track lists like History.....
The things SpyBot finds in RED with checks in them are what you want to remove.....
You can also download StartupList program, from the Nicefiles site, too. After you install this, it will create a log file that you copy and paste (whole log, please) into a reply to this thread.


This will show the experts here exactly what spywares might be running on your pc.....they can help you decide what has to go. When you remove spywares from programs that installed them, some programs like file sharing networks, etc might not work....we have been through this countless times, and the experts here know the ropes....these components should be removed is all I can tell you- if any are found, it will take care of them.
 
Joined
May 6, 2002
Messages
882
You can try this. It solved one of my browser woes once. Go to Control Panel - Add/Remove Programs. Highlight your browswer and click remove. Another box will come up that will give you an option to click repair.

Good luck.
 

Nova13

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
9
Okay I'm back.

First of all I just recently noticed Byteman's edit to his first post. I tried resetting Web settings, with no effect.

Secondly, in reply to melonhead, I looked in Add/Remove and explorer does not appear there.

Now, as to the other things:

I went to the HouseCall site again today and it worked this time. No viruses were detected. So that's good.

I downloaded the spybot search and destroy program, and a long list of things came up. I HAVE NOT not done anything about any of this as yet- I wanted to hear what others had to say here first. The following all appeared in red, with checkmarks:

advertising.com (two entries)
alexa related
avenue a
backweb lite (60 entries!!!)
bfast
commission junction (2 entries)
double click
engage inc
fast click (2 entries)
hitbox (3 entries)
hitslink
internet explorer
mediaplex
ms media player
value check

The following appeared in green, with no checkmarks:

adobe acrobat reader 5
internet explorer (6 entries)
log (4 entries)
ms direct 3D
ms direct draw
ms direct input (2 entries)
ms media player (2 entries)
ms paint
windows explorer (6 entries)
windows network
windows
win zip (9 entries)

As I said, I haven't done anything with any of these as yet. I assume that I should click the "fix all problems" button, but I wanted to be sure.

I also downloaded the StartUp List program (if I should go back and fix the problems detected by spybot and then run the StartUp List program again, just say so and I'll go back and do that). Here is the log:

StartupList report, 2/1/03, 10:19:35 PM
StartupList version: 1.51
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.00 (5.00.2614.3500)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET CALL MANAGER\ICM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
EnsoniqMixer = starter.exe
SoundFusion = RunDll32 cwcprops.cpl,CrystalControlWnd
LexStart = Lexstart.exe
CountrySelection = pctptt.exe
PTSNOOP = ptsnoop.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

GrpConv = grpconv.exe -o

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

msnmsgr = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 31/1/2003, 17:8:42)

[Rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\_DS4094.TMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\_DS302.TMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CORECOMP.INI
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CTL3D32.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\5BCD4.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ISUNINST.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\_ISRES.OPT
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\_ISUSER.OPT
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ADOLESCE.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ANTIGO~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ANTIGO~2.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ANTIGO~3.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ANTIGONI.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ARCHON.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\AUCOIN~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\AUCOIN~2.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BANJOOB.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BEDINI~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BEDINI~2.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BEDINI~3.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BEDINI.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BERSOLID.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CPUINF32.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CORFNT32.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CREEPY__.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CURLZ___.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ERASDUST.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\FALFESTL.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\DXM6PTCH.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\DXMEDIA.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\DXTXTRA.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\EUROST~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\EUROST~2.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\EUROST~3.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\EUROSTAR.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\FIGARO.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\FTL_____.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\GOURMA~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\GOURMA~2.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\GOURMA~3.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\GOURMAND.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\IPLDET~1.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\KIDTYPEP.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\METRON~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\MISTRAL.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\NTATL.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\MSJAVX86.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\NEWFNT32.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\ORBUS.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PALASMBD.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PALLAD~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PALLAD~2.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PALLAD~3.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PALLAD~4.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PEINAU~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PLUMP.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\SPACETOA.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\REGSVR32.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\SCHIND~1.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\SCHIND~2.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\SCHIND~3.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\TEAMBD.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\TWECEPOS.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\WENDYMED.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\TREBUC32.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\VIANTA.TTF
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\WINATL.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\W95GRAY.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BBRD1.BMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\AR405ENG.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BBRD2.BMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BBRD3.BMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\BBRD4.BMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\CONTENT.BMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\LICENSE.TXT
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\HHUPD.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PS4_ENG.DLL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\MPFULL.EXE
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PS4TIT~1.BMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\PS4TIT~2.BMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\VALUE.SHL
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_ISTMP3.DIR\_ISTMP0.DIR\5BCCF.DLL

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H7 P330 T6
SET SBPCI=C:\SBPCI

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[YInstStarter Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[HouseCall Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2003012801/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 8,861 bytes
Report generated in 0.067 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, You do have a small assortment of malwares there....Backweb is the culprit in this case, far as I can see right now. You should and can safely get rid of all the items marked with a check and in red....ignore the Usage tracks, history lists etc.
What is going in the TEMP folder is probably just as bad....read the page with info about deleting things from this occaisionally.....you do not delete the ones dated for about the last 3 days, so you have to highlight and use the Shift key to select all but those dates and click DELETE key.
You may as well use Disk Cleanup for Temporary Internet Files....unless you have been emptying that, they can build up and slow down the pc.
 

Nova13

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
9
I got rid of the spyware and I reset the temp files to only take up to 1MB of space and history to hold files only from last 3 days.

I'm sure all this is helping the computer but it hasn't affected my initial problem with the browser pooping out.

I noticed in another thread dealing with a similar problem that someone asked about the network adapters. I had a look in mine and I have the following:

Client for microsoft networks
3com 3C918 Integrated Fast Ethernet Controller
AOL Adapter
AOL Dial-Up Adapter
Dial-Up Adapter
TCP/IP-3com 3C918 Integrated Fast Ethernet Controller
TCP/IP-AOL Adapter
TCP/IP-AOL Dial-Up Adapter
TCP/IP Dial-Up Adapter

I have a 56K connection, and I don't go through AOL, so I'm confused as to why I have some of this stuff on here. I wonder if I could get rid of some of it?
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, Appears that someone did have AOL- there may still be a folder on the hard drive, or it may appear in Add/Remove Programs, if you do not use AOL, you could remove it....someone may have just trashed the program folder, too, so it may not show or be able to be uninstalled. Do you have CompuServ?
 

Nova13

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
9
I removed the AOL adapters. I guess that wasn't the problem. No, I don't use Compuserve- just a connection through the regional telephone company (Aliant/Sympatico).
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, Tonite I took aim and emptied my History logs....that seems to have helped with my short browsing delay here....you open Tools top of any IE page, Internet Options, right at bottom, Clear History. Much better, hadnt done it in a while. That stuff can stay around for a long time....check the box to see how many days/weeks yours is saving....set it lower if you like, mine is now 10 days.
Your network device may be what is causing problems....do you use it at all?
I suppose, someone here can help figure that out....
usually, its the Network protocols that are loaded that cause this stuff.....you should only need TCP/TCIP. (But, wait for some expert help!) There is a setting "Log on to Network" that does not belong checked, if you are using a dialup, and not networked to another pc.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top