Browser issues: "Page cannot be displayed" requires multiple refreshes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

girlruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
15
I've been having a problem for several months with my browser(s) and hoping someone here might be able to help.

I use both Internet Explorer and Firefox, so I've decided this isn't a browser problem. About half the time I click on links-- either from inside the browser, whether I am opening in a new window or not, from an e-mail program or chat program-- I get the "Page cannot be displayed" error. However, when I click Refresh, the page will suddenly load just fine. Usually I have to click Refresh more than once, sometimes five or six times before the page actually loads. I have no idea why it's happening and I can't seem to narrow the possibilities.

Does anyone know why this would be happening?

I'm using Windows XP, if that's of any relevance.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
24
Have you checked that you are not set to 'Work Offline' in either of the browsers?
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,023
Hi..and welcome..
D/load..Spybot..Ad-Aware..links below..check for updates..scan..remove what they find..
Let us know if that helps..
 

girlruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
15
The Work Offline option is not checked off, no.

I'm in the process of scanning with AdAware so I'll let you know. Thanks!
 

girlruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
15
Well, I ran Ad-Aware and deleted everything... but I'm still having the same problem. :(

It happens when I click links within my browser, but it more often happens when I click things from within an e-mail or chat program. That's usually when I have to refresh more than once too.

Anyone have any other ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
1
I am having the same problem as girlruin. I have run Ad-Aware 1.06 and Spybot - Search and Destroy, and Hijack This also. All clean. I run AVG Antivirus and use Windows Firewall in XP Service Pack 2. I have reset IE to defaults but still having the same problem. Clicking on a link sometimes brings up the error "The Page cannot be displayed" however refreshing once and sometimes more will load the page. Your not alone girlruin.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
17
Hello:

I have same problem with BOTH IE ("The page cannot be displayed") and Firefox (URL "could not be found, Please check the name and try again"). Happens using Router (D-Link DI-524, 4 months old -- it was working fine until this problem started 2 days ago).

I have 2 computers running on the router. BOTH exhibited the problem!

Problem started, then I removed router (and thus the second computer) from the equation. Problem went away, then connection became slow/problematic. 1 hour with Sympatico tech support lost then brought back my WAN without the router. The original problem (having to refresh each new page) is still there with the router back in the loop -- 2nd computer also exhibiting the same problem again.

OS: Win 2000 Pro (both computers).
ISP: Bell Sympatico (Canada)
Hardware: SpeedStream DSL modem, D-Link DI-524 Wireless router (rev C).
Hijack This log for machine #1 follows at bottom (run after Panda ActiveScan log).

Strange thing happened - got following warnings from anti virus on compute #1. (Didn't receive emails at those times, and I wasn't visiting nasty sites.)

2005/07/09 10:11:41.390 File infection: C:\WINDOWS\iwnujdss2.exe is Win32.Slinbot.AGE worm. Deleted
2005/07/09 10:12:45.937 File infection: C:\WINDOWS\system32\wnplayer.exe is Win32.Slinbot.AFR worm. Deleted
2005/07/09 16:23:08.468 File infection: C:\WINDOWS\system32\wnplayer.exe is Win32.Slinbot.AFR worm. Deleted

(For BOTH computers) subsequent Webroot Spy Sweeper scans are clean, and CA eTrust system scan is also clean.

Oddly enough I just ran Panda Software (http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/) on #1 and it reported several infections. (I don't know if "No Disinfected" means can't clean or not a threat.) #2 also gave me a minor infection, which it cleaned.

Here's the log for that:

START OF PANDA ACTIVESCAN LOG:
Computer #1, Scanned 10 July/05, approx 18:00

Incident Status Location

Adware:Adware/Gator No disinfected C:\WINDOWS\gator*.log

Adware:Adware/MyWebSearch No disinfected Windows Registry

Adware:Adware/Coupons No disinfected C:\My Download

Files\hijackthis\backup-20040119-225323-937.dll

Adware:Adware/FunWeb No disinfected C:\My Download

Files\hijackthis\backup-20050709-102259-935.inf

Adware:Adware/Gator No disinfected C:\Program Files\Common

Files\flocfdut\dtcrrscp\aqeqmsro.exe
Adware:Adware/Gator No disinfected C:\Program Files\Common

Files\flocfdut\fsqrafmlaq\nfebmtefu.exe
Adware:Adware/Gator No disinfected C:\WINDOWS\GatorHDPlugin.log

Adware:Adware/Gator No disinfected C:\WINDOWS\GatorUninstaller.log

Possible Virus. No disinfected C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\missyou.exe[tetris.exe]

Possible Virus. No disinfected C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\missyou.exe[parady.exe]

Adware:Adware/Coupons No disinfected C:\_RESTORE\ARCHIVE\FS631.CAB[A0026154.CPY]

Virus:W32/Sobig.E Disinfected Personal Folders\Administration\Headwaters

work-related\Re: Application\your_details.zi[details.pif]

END OF PANDA ACTIVESCAN LOG

Start of HJT Log, computer #1:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 12:11:30 AM, on 11/07/2005
Platform: Windows 2000 SP4 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\csrss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\ISafe.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\regsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\MSTask.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\stisvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\WRSSSDK.exe
C:\Program Files\Bell\Access Manager\app\TangoService.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\VetMsg.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\qttask.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVTray.exe
C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVRID.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\hpoopm07.exe
C:\Program Files\BenQ\QMusic2\QMAgent.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Hardware\Mouse\point32.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SpySweeper.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\internat.exe
C:\Program Files\Skype\Phone\Skype.exe
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\hp officejet v series\bin\hpodev07.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\NOTEPAD.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\NOTEPAD.EXE
C:\My Download Files\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.google.ca
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.cbc.ca/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.cbc.ca
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\blank.htm
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: Popup Manager - {08E74C67-99A6-45C7-94DA-A397A8FD8082} - C:\Program Files\Popup Manager\PopupMgr_1.0.1.5.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\system32\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CaAvTray] "C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVTray.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CAVRID] "C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Antivirus\CAVRID.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPAIO_PrintFolderMgr] C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\hpoopm07.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QMusic] "C:\Program Files\BenQ\QMusic2\QMAgent.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SpySweeper] "C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SpySweeper.exe" /startintray
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [internat.exe] internat.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Skype] "C:\Program Files\Skype\Phone\Skype.exe" /nosplash /minimized
O4 - Global Startup: Acrobat Assistant.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Billminder.lnk = Quicken\billmind.exe
O4 - Global Startup: HPAiODevice.lnk = Hewlett-Packard\hp officejet v series\bin\hpodev07.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: Quicken Scheduled Updates.lnk = Quicken\bagent.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Quicken Startup.lnk = Quicken\QWDLLS.EXE
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search - http://bar.mywebsearch.com/menusearch.html?p=ZSxdm477YYCA
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .mov: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: ppctlcab - http://www.my-etrust.com/includes/pscanner/ppctlcab.CAB
O16 - DPF: {02BCC737-B171-4746-94C9-0D8A0B2C0089} (Microsoft Office Template and Media Control) - http://office.microsoft.com/templates/ieawsdc.cab
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {11260943-421B-11D0-8EAC-0000C07D88CF} (iPIX ActiveX Control) - http://www.ipix.com/download/ipixx.cab
O16 - DPF: {15B782AF-55D8-11D1-B477-006097098764} (Macromedia Authorware Web Player Control) - file://D:\Installers\AuthorwareWebPlayer\awswax.cab
O16 - DPF: {2FC9A21E-2069-4E47-8235-36318989DB13} (PPSDKActiveXScanner.MainScreen) - http://www.my-etrust.com/includes/pscanner/axscanner.cab
O16 - DPF: {3E68E405-C6DE-49FF-83AE-41EE9F4C36CE} (Office Update Installation Engine) - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/content/opuc.cab
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?38120.1859722222
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {EB387D2F-E27B-4D36-979E-847D1036C65D} (QDiagHUpdateObj Class) - http://h30043.www3.hp.com/aio/en/check/qdiagh.cab?323
 

girlruin

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
15
This happens in both IE and Firefox for me as well. Sometimes I'll be able to open the link in Firefox but then not IE, and vice versa, as well. Which is even more strange. I'm running Norton Anti-Virus, the Windows XP firewall, and I am also behind the router firewall (we have a personal network set up here). I've done adware/spyware checks since (with three different progams) but the problem still persists.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,023
Hi..Run a Hijackthis log..log experts will take a look..link below..Install in C:\ program file
Let it scan..save logfile to notepad>click edit>select all>edit>copy>paste on your thread..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top