Browser issues upstairs but online games work fine

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tessa0518

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
4
I'm having some connection issues with my wireless internet upstairs, specifically with browsers (using Firefox but I have issues with Explorer and Chrome too). My laptop shows that the signal strength is excellent but for some reason, when I browse the net, the loading is always pooping out or is really slow. I never actually get a "there is no connection" message though. I would be signed into my gmail account and still get new email but the chat is always saying that it can't reach gmail. I can however connect to online games and play with no problems whatsoever.

My bedroom is right above where the router is and I didn't have this problem before. It just started a few months ago and it's really starting to bug me. My desktop (which is also using wireless) and my iPod work perfectly fine as well as my husband's computer and laptop. It seems only my laptop is having this issue.

Here's information on my laptop:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 480 @ 2.67GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3882 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 310M, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 204799 MB, Free - 171920 MB; D: Total - 395338 MB, Free - 393838 MB;
Motherboard: SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS CO., LTD., QX310/QX410/QX510/SF310/SF410/SF510
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Alice
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6250 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-15-A1-DF-3C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1060:e0a9:6e58:dee3%15(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 11:09:33 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, November 03, 2011 11:09:33 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 402662165
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-7F-47-8A-00-24-54-CE-2A-C8

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8059 Family PCI-E Gigabi
t Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-11-32-0B-19-90
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) WiMAX 6250
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-D4-DA-1B-23-D7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2826:18d3:3f57:fef5(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2826:18d3:3f57:fef5%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


I am using the laptop upstairs right now and hopefully this thread will post instead on timing out on me. Gonna copy this in a notepad just in case!

Thank you in advance for any help!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.

For the laptop and another computer with good networking please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.

Try these repairs ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

tessa0518

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
4
Drivers are up to date and I tried those repairs that were suggested but they didn't work. I already tried reinstalling my laptop twice already so I didn't think it would. Here are the requested screenshots:

Desktop with good connection:
desktopnetworks.jpg

Laptop with poor connection:
laptopnetworks.jpg
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Vista sometimes struggles with WEP and I assume that Windows 7 does also. Try w/o encryption to see if that makes a difference. If it works OK w/o encryption try WPA-PSK to see how that works.
 

tessa0518

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
4
The connection doesn't work without encryption. I'm starting to think my laptop is just a piece of junk even though I bought it only 4 months ago.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
The adapter may be defective. Still under warranty, right?
 

tessa0518

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
4
I thought that might be the case but was hoping it wasn't. Thankfully it is still under warranty. I'll give Samsung a call. Thank you for your help and time.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Just to cover all the bases, no matter if low probability--make sure you have the latest router firmware; then reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure it. The part in bold is the important part, as sometimes routers need to be "renewed" this way.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top