1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Browser opens automatically at random

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Raderick, Aug 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Raderick

    Raderick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    Hello there!

    At random times in the last couple of days my browser (Firefox) would open randomly the default web sites. If the browser is closed or I'm doing something in another application, it would open a new browser window with the default web pages without me triggering the application to open.

    I've done a full virus search using Kaspersky , Spybot and AdAware but none of the three could find any malware or spyware. Any help would be much appreciated!

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 6091 Mb
    Graphics Card: Radeon (TM) HD 6490M, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 697676 MB, Free - 518596 MB; D: Total - 17423 MB, Free - 1907 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1800
    Antivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,016
    It doesn't sound like malware to me, since it's only opening your default page(s).

    If it was ads or bringing you to some random site, then I would definitely think it's malware related.

    ----------------------------------------

    Have you tried uninstalling Firefox and reinstalling?

    It sounds like a lag or sorts from when you initially launch the program, or that you're hitting a keyboard shortcut or clicking a button accidentally to launch another window.

    ----------------------------------------

    Does this happen in Safe Mode With Networking?
     
  3. Raderick

    Raderick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    146

    Hello!

    I would walk away from my computer for a minute, and when I come back, Firefox would open itself.

    Didn't try uninstalling/reinstalling Firefox. I set my default browser to Internet Explorer, and it did the same exact thing so I doubt it's a Firefox issue. I haven't installed any applications or do any major downloads on this laptop anytime as of late, but I guess even then it could be anything.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,016
     
  5. Raderick

    Raderick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    I haven't been able to trigger this in Safe Mode w/Networking.
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,016
    Try performing a System Restore to a point before the problem was occurring.
     
  7. Raderick

    Raderick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    There are only two restore points available, from yesterday, so I won't be able to do this.

    Any other ideas? It's starting to intensify, almost once every minute to two minutes now.
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,016
    Click Start.

    In the search bar type cmd and hit Enter.
    (For Windows XP users, click run then type this in)

    In Command Prompt, type chkdsk /f and hit Enter.

    At the prompt, type y and hit Enter.

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. Raderick

    Raderick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    Just tried it, problem still occurring.
     
  10. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,016
    Do you have your Windows 7 disk?
     
  11. Raderick

    Raderick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    No Windows 7 disc came with my computer, think the Win 7 recovery data is built in the computer itself.
     
  12. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,016
    I wasn't planning on doing a System Recovery, but a Startup Repair.

    -------------------------------------------------

    Use the System File Checker to make sure all the Windows files are where they need to be and not corrupted.

    Directions can be found here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833
     
  13. Raderick

    Raderick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    Went ahead and did the scan, got this:

    "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations."
     
  14. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,016
  15. techmaster85

    techmaster85

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    I would also check to make sure there are no tasks in the run selected tasks at a scheduled time
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063868