1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

browser/operating system

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by tayoo, Oct 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tayoo

    tayoo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    I need to configure my router, i need to go to this address:http://192.168.0.1 i do use internet explorer ver 6.0 and operating system is windows me , each time i go to this web address i always get web page is not available, or web page can't be displayed. but i can go to any other web page, please how can i go to this web page, i did test the web address is ok, i tried start, programs,run, typed in command, and then typed in ping space 192.168.0.1 i did get a reply from this address but when i did go to type the web address , i get web page can't be displayed. Please help.
     
  2. Mithrilhall

    Mithrilhall

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    781
    Do a search on your computer for a file called "hosts". Post what's inside here.
     
  3. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Don't know if I can help or have the right answer or not.
    I just got me a router and I think the address 192.xxx.x.x is your router so that is why you can't get to the site.

    Note:
    Edit your post and take the address away so other will not have it because that is your address that is part of your firewall so best not to let the world know.

    Now a Search results for: 192.xxx.x.x (use your own address) can be done here.
    http://www.arin.net/whois/index.html
    But My router IP address comes up with the same page in the search. It must be because it falls in the NetRange: 192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 also.

    By the way, Welcome to TSG :)
     
  4. DVOM

    DVOM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,716
    http://192.168.0.1/ is the internal LAN IP of your router. Since you can ping that IP, try clearing your browser cache in IE.

    In IE click "tools>internet options>general tab>Delete Files>delete all offline content>OK"
     
  5. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    You might check with your router tech support. I was told to go to 192.168.1.1 and it was the wrong address. You seem to be browsing fine so the problem seems to be the IP address to access your router setup.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171348

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice