1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

browser or application error or connection problem

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by greetings2u, Dec 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. greetings2u

    greetings2u Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    29
    My problem is that when I travel the web it is sometimes not detecting that I am connected to my server.
    When I downloaded the latest server connection from the web and I press about, it says Version: 5.5.0.0040a
    Source: Web Download <-
    Note: No Browser <-
    I get this a lot. My mail program did not recognize my browser.
    I have seemed to notice that a lot of things do not detect the browser I am using. I have Microsoft internet explorer6.
    I am not sure what is going on or what to do. Sometimes my connection status shows a strong connection and sometimes not. I belive it may have something to do with the browser. I am also having trouble getting knocked of line when shockwave loads. To do a puzzle. (but not every time) Sometimes sites do not detect my connection. Other times I get the page that says would you like us to detect your settings. If a press file -new window, and go to a different page sometimes my connection becomes stronger. I hope you can give me some help. Thanks for you time and advice.

    I tried help on Microsoft. And this is what I got.
    Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine.

    Details: To enable the details of this specific error message to be viewable on remote machines, please create a <customErrors> tag within the configuration file located in the root directory of the current web application. This -customErrors- tag should then have its "mode" attribute set to "Off".

    -configuration- -system.web- -customErrors mode="Off"/- -/system.web- -/configuration-

    Notes: The current error page you are seeing can be replaced by a custom error page by modifying the "defaultRedirect" attribute of the application's -customErrors- configuration tag to point to a custom error page URL.

    -configuration- -system.web- -customErrors mode="RemoteOnly" defaultRedirect="mycustompage.htm"/- -/system.web---/configuration-

    I put - where the < were.
    I am not sure how to do this. Or if it has anything to do with the problem. Or if I should do this. Thanks for the help. :O)
     
  2. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi Greetings2uwelcome to TSG.Lets rule out any third party conflicts.Go to Start>Run>type in msinfo32>click ok.Click on the + sign next to Software Environment>click on Startup programs>click on edit>select all>click edit>copy,and paste the page back here.
     
  3. greetings2u

    greetings2u Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    29
    Reminder Startup Group C:\IBMTOOLS\REGISTER\remind.exe
    WEBCAMRT.EXE Registry (Per-User Run)
    vTPass Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRA~1\VTRAILS\VTPASS\0\System\vtpassld.exe "C:\PROGRA~1\VTRAILS\VTPASS\0\System\vtpass.exe"
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    ConfigSafe Registry (Machine Run) C:\CSAFE\AUTOCHK.EXE
    AEZBProc Registry (Machine Run) c:\ibmtools\aptezbtn\aptezbp.exe
    Norton Auto-Protect Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    LexStart Registry (Machine Run) Lexstart.exe
    LexmarkPrinTray Registry (Machine Run) PrinTray.exe
    PiDunHk Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\PRODINET\BIN\PIDUNHK.EXE"
    wcmdmgr Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\wt\updater\wcmdmgrl.exe -launch
    QuickTime Task Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    MSDTC Registry (Machine Service) msdtcw -start
    inetinfo.exe Registry (Machine Service) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe -e w3svc
     
  4. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi greetings2u,Just read about this program (vt pass)Its some kind of peer to peer networking program.This might be the culprit.Lets try this,Go to start>run>type in msconfig>click ok>click on the startup tab>remove the check mark from

    VT pass
    webcamrt
    wcmdmgr
    quicktime
    msdtc

    Click apply>then Ok>reboot

    Let us know if this helps
     
  5. greetings2u

    greetings2u Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    29
    Thank You, Everything is running good. :)
     
  6. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Your welcome:D
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62405

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice