Browser REALLY Slow - HJT Log Attached

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

log_splitter

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
235
I don't know why my browser, in the last week, has gotten really slow (sometimes won't finish loading pages). Here is what I've done:

1. Updated and ran AdAware and Spybot
2. Updated Spywareguard and Spywareblaster
3. Ran CW Shredder (nothing found)
4. Ran IE6 Repair (from Add/Remove)
5. Emptied all of Temp, Temporary Internet Files/Content IE5, & Recycle Bin
6. Ran Defrag
7. Downloaded new HJT (log following this)

Also, here is what's running when I check Ctrl/Alt/Del: Explorer, Sgmain, Avgemc, Zlclient, Avgcc, Stimon, Sgbhp, Directcd, Systray, Rnaapp

Does anyone see anything that could be causing this? Recently, there has been another person using this computer to check email and visit sites, but I've found nothing unusual in TIF, Recent, History, etc., so I'm not sure she has caused the problem (I don't think so). Anyway, if there's something else I can do, or something else I can look for, I'd appreciate some assistance. Thanks......

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 7:21:41 AM, on 7/15/05
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\CD-WRITER PLUS\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGAMSVR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGCC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGEMC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGMAIN.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGBHP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\HJT\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.caltel.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Calaveras Internet
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuardDLBLOCK.CBrowserHelper - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\DLPROTECT.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adaptec DirectCD] C:\Program Files\CD-Writer Plus\DirectCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_AMSVR] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGAMSVR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGCC.EXE /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGEMC.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [TrueVector] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YPAGER.EXE
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YPAGER.EXE
O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm
O12 - Plugin for .asp: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=36467&clcid=0x409
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,167
I don't really see anything to account for that in the log.

Rescan with HijackThis, close all browser windows except HijackThis, put a check mark beside these entries and click “fix checked.”

O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm

O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm



Go here to download CCleaner.
  • Install CCleaner
  • Launch CCleaner and look in the upper right corner and click on the "Options" button.
  • Click "Advanced" and remove the check by "Only delete files in Windows temp folders older than 48 hours".
  • Click OK
  • Do not run CCleaner yet. You will run it later in safe mode.

Click here for info on how to boot to safe mode if you don't already know how.

Restart your computer into safe mode now. Perform the following steps in safe mode:


Start CCleaner and click Run Cleaner


Do a couple of on-line virus scans at these links:

Housecall

Do a Panda Active Scan. Be sure to save the log it creates.

Reboot and post another Hijack This log and the log from the Panda scan.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,261
Log Splitter:

What you see in the Close Program box when you press Ctrl-Alt-Delete is not the same and not as detailed as what you see when you go into the MSCONFIG "Startup" tab.

Click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG, then click OK - Startup(tab). Everything listed there with a checkmark next to it is loading during startup and running in the background.

Other than

ScanRegistry
SystemTray
Antivirus program entries
Firewall program entries


very few others, if any, need to be checked and enabled.

You can remove the checkmark from

loadpowerprofile(both entries)

Once you're done, click Apply - OK, then reboot.

----------------------------------------------------------------

If you feel like doing a couple of registry tweaks and updating the VTCP.386 and NDIS.VXD files so your webpage loading and 56K dial-up connection can run a little better, let me know.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

log_splitter

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
235
Thanks so much, Cookiegal and Flavalee :)

I did as you said, and deleted the two entries with HJT, then installed ccleaner and ran it in safe mode. This HJT log is after this was done, and after I unchecked the Load Power Profile entries in startup.

Unfortunately, when I ran the Panda online scan, I couldn't find anything about seeing or saving a log. All it said was no viruses found, and the only option button I could find was to scan again (I checked their Help and FAQ pages, but couldn't find anything about a log). Still, I did run it.

For what it's worth, it does seem a bit better now :) (not quite as slow)

Thanks.......

Anyway, here's the new HJT log:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 6:05:25 PM, on 7/15/05
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\CD-WRITER PLUS\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGAMSVR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGCC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGEMC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGMAIN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGBHP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\HJT\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
http://www.caltel.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Calaveras
Internet
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuardDLBLOCK.CBrowserHelper -
{4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\PROGRAM
FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\DLPROTECT.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program
Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} -
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT
5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} -
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adaptec DirectCD] C:\Program Files\CD-Writer
Plus\DirectCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_AMSVR]
C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGAMSVR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGCC.EXE
/STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC]
C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGEMC.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone
Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [TrueVector]
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} -
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console -
{08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} -
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger -
{E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRAM
FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YPAGER.EXE
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger -
{E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRAM
FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YPAGER.EXE
O12 - Plugin for .asp: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine
Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=36467&clcid=0x409
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer
Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,261
Let's have some fun. ;)

----------------------------------------------------------------

Click Start - Run, type in REGEDIT, then click OK. This will open the registry editor.

Click the + in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE - System - CurrentControlSet - Services - VXD - MSTCP, then click directly on ServiceProvider.

In the right pane, right-click directly on each of the following, click Modify, change the values as shown, then click OK:

LocalPriority - 01 00 00 00

HostPriority - 02 00 00 00

DnsPriority - 03 00 00 00

NetbtPriority - 04 00 00 00


Once you're done, click the + in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE - Software - Microsoft - Windows - CurrentVersion - Explorer - RemoteComputer - NameSpace.

In the NameSpace sub-menu, right-click directly on each folder, then click Delete - Yes. Once you get done, there shouldn't be any entries under NameSpace.

Close the registry editor, then reboot.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Go here and download and save the following files:

236926usa8.exe (VTCP.386)

243199us8.exe (NDIS.VXD)

Once they've been downloaded and saved, close Internet Explorer. Double-click each file to install it. After both files have been installed, reboot.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Open Internet Explorer, then click Tools - Internet Options - Connections(tab) - LAN Settings(button). Make sure that everything is unchecked, then click OK - Apply - OK.

----------------------------------------------------------------

All of the above tweaks are used for improving the connection and speeding up the loading of webpages. :D

Go here and scroll down to the bottom of the page.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

log_splitter

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
235
Thanks SO MUCH to both Cookiegal and Flavalee! :)

This system is working better than ever. I followed both your instructions to the letter, and I can't tell you how much help you both were (Yeah, Flavalee, I also did the "tweaks" you told me to do in your last post....hope you don't mind, but I copied and printed out your post for future reference).

Anyway, whatever was causing the problem seems to be OK now.

I'm curious, now, as to whether it will help the problem from my other post (in the "Web" forum....the one about the modem kicking out often). So far, it seems to have helped that, too.

Anyway, I really appreciate the assist! Best....Larry (log_splitter)
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,261
Log Splitter:

There are a ton of tweaks and patches for dealing with an Internet connection - highspeed or dialup. Those were just a few that I gave you.

Since you have Rnaapp running, it's apparent that you're using dialup and not highspeed. If your connection speed is between 44,000 - 48,000 bps, that's about normal.
 

log_splitter

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
235
flavallee said:
Log Splitter:

There are a ton of tweaks and patches for dealing with an Internet connection - highspeed or dialup. Those were just a few that I gave you.

Since you have Rnaapp running, it's apparent that you're using dialup and not highspeed. If your connection speed is between 44,000 - 48,000 bps, that's about normal.
Yeah, you're right :rolleyes: 56K modem (when it's not kicking itself offline and making me reconnect ;) ) Anyway, my connection speed used to be close to 50,000. For some time now, it's been down to 37,333....can't seem to get it any faster (Motorola SM56 PCI Speakerphone Modem....I have an unanswered post in the "Web" forum on this site concerning the modem either kicking out a lot while I'm online, or trying to put itself online at odd times by itself, disrupting whatever I'm doing at the time....don't know if it's a driver problem, or what. In any case, I think I'm bordering on a new thread here, but not sure which forum to post it in).

Anyhow, thanks much for the assist. Best....log_splitter
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,261
You might check the web and see if there is any updated driver for your modem. An updated driver can improve speed and throughput in some cases.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Go here and download and install Cablenut 4.08. The add-on package is not needed, so leave it alone.

Once you have Cablenut installed, open its adjuster window. Type in the following settings:

BcastNameQueryCount - 1
BcastQueryTimeout - 100
BSDUrgent - 1
CacheTimeout - 600000
DefaultRcvWindow - 8760
DefaultTTL - 128
EnableDNS - 0
GlobalMaxTcpWindoSize - 8760
KeepAliveInterval - 500
KeepAliveTime - 14000000
Lanabase - 0
LocalCopyMade - 1
MaxConnections - 100
MaxConnectRetries - 5
MaxDataRetries - 64
NameTableSize - 255
NameSrvQueryTimeout - 100
PMTUBlackHoleDetect - 0
PMTUDiscovery - 1
RoutingBufSize - 146432
RoutingPackets - 100
SackOpts - 1
SessionKeepAlive - 7200
SessionTableSize - 255
Size/Small/Medium/Large - 3
Tcp1323Opts - 0
TcpTimedWaitDelay - 30
MaxDupAttacks - 3
DefaultTOS - 240
IGPMLevel - 2
MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server - 8
MaxConnectionsPerServer - 4


Once you are done and have made sure that all the settings are correct, save the changes to the registry, close Cablenut, then reboot.

(Note: These settings are for a 56K dialup connection, so if you ever upgrade to highspeed broadband, a few of the settings will need to be changed)

---------------------------------------------------------------

After you have done the above, go here, then click Broadband - Broadband Tools - SG TCP/IP Analyzer. After a few seconds, a new webpage will appear with the test results.

Copy-and-paste everything in the gray field, then post it here. I want to see what values are shown for MSS, MTU, and RWIN.

You have already installed the updated VTCP.386 and NDIS.VXD patches, right? If you have not, the test results will not display correctly.

(Note: Do not let the word "Broadband" confuse you. This test also works with 56K dialup)

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

log_splitter

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
235
What a difference (y) The Cablenut program took me from 37,333 to 45,333....hasn't been this fast in a long time! Thanks so much :) (still, the modem has already kicked itself offline once since I installed this....had to reconnect to finish the test).... **EDIT** It dropped back down to 37,333, but still seems better than before....maybe at least it's more efficient now **END EDIT**

Yes, I had already installed the two patches. Here are the test results you wanted:

TCP options string = 0204021801010402
MTU = 576
MTU value seems to be optimized for dial-up. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput.
MSS = 536
MSS is not fully optimized for broadband (although it might work well for slower connections). Consider increasing your MTU value.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 8576
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 8576

RWIN is a multiple of MSS
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
523136 (MSS x 122 * scale factor of 8)
261568 (MSS x 122 * scale factor of 4)
130784 (MSS x 122 * scale factor of 2)
65392 (MSS x 122)
bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

Your RcvWindow limits you to: 343.04 kbps (42.88 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 137.216 kbps (17.152 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.
MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
Time to live left = 118 hops

TTL value is ok.
Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,261
We need to do some registry tweaking so we can obtain the following settings:

MaxMSS - 1460

MaxMTU - 1500

DefaultRcvWindow(RWIN) - 8760

GlobalMaxTcpWindoSize - 8760

You might want to print this out before you start so you can follow it easily.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Click Start - Run, type in REGEDIT, then click OK.

Click the + in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE - System - CurrentControlSet - Services - Class - NetTrans

There should be one or more folders in the NetTrans sub-menu with a 4-digit number. Click directly on the first 4-digit folder to expose its entries in the right pane.

Right-click an empty space within the right pane, then click New - String Value. Type in MaxMSS and then press Enter.

Right-click that new entry, then click Modify. Type in a value of 1460 and then click OK.

Right-click an empty space within the right pane, then click New - String Value. Type in MaxMTU and then press Enter.

Right-click that new entry, then click Modify. Type in a value of 1500 and then click OK.

Repeat these steps with the remaining 4-digit folders.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Click the + in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE - System - CurrentControlSet - Services - VxD.

Click directly on the MSTCP folder to expose its entries in the right pane. You will see the vast majority of the entries there that you made with Cablenut 4.08.

If DefaultRcvWindow is not set to 8760, right-click it, then click Modify. Type in a value of 8760 and then click OK.

If GlobalMaxTcpWindoSize is not set to 8760, right-click it, then click Modify. Type in a value of 8760 and then click OK.

----------------------------------------------------------------

While you are still in the registry editor, click Edit - Find, type in MaxMSS and then click Find Next.

If any new MaxMSS entry appears with a value different than listed above, modify it to the correct value.

Repeat the steps with

MaxMTU

DefaultRcvWindow

GlobalMaxTcpWindoSize


----------------------------------------------------------------

Close the registry editor, then reboot.

Go back to the SpeedGuide site and run the TCP/IP Analyzer, then post a copy of the results here.

----------------------------------------------------------------

(Note: Make sure to type in these entries exactly as you see them with the uppercase and lowercase letters. The last "w" is missing on purpose from the GlobalMaxTcpWindoSize entry because of an error by Microsoft when the operating system was created. Do NOT add the "w" to it!)

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

log_splitter

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
235
OK, all of it is finished. Still at 37,333....but still working MUCH better....and it seems faster, even though still showing the same speed (y)

By the way.....I REALLY appreciate your patience in hanging in with this....Thx

Here are the new test results:

TCP options string = 0204021801010402
MTU = 576
MTU value seems to be optimized for dial-up. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput.
MSS = 536
MSS is not fully optimized for broadband (although it might work well for slower connections). Consider increasing your MTU value.

Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 8760
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 8760

For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
523136 (MSS x 122 * scale factor of 8)
261568 (MSS x 122 * scale factor of 4)
130784 (MSS x 122 * scale factor of 2)
65392 (MSS x 122)
bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

Your RcvWindow limits you to: 350.4 kbps (43.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 140.16 kbps (17.52 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.
MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
Time to live left = 118 hops

TTL value is ok.
Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 11100000 (224)

Precedence (priority) = 111 (Network Control)
Delay = 0 (normal delay)
Throughput = 0 (normal throughput)
Reliability = 0 (normal reliability)
Cost = 0 (normal cost)
Check bit = 0 (correct, 8th checking bit must be zero)

DiffServ (RFC 2474) = CS7 111000 (56) - class 7 (RFC 2474). Similar forwarding behavior to the ToS Precedence field.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,261
There are some other registry tweaks for getting the MSS and MTU valves set to 1460 and 1500, but I'm going to have to hunt for them.

----------------------------------------------------------------

In the meantime, here are a few more 56K registry tweaks to have fun with:

Click Start - Run, type in REGEDIT, then click OK.

Click the + in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE - System - CurrentControlSet - Services - Class - Net.

Click directly on the 000x folder to expose its entries in the right pane.

Right-click directly on SLOWNET and then click Modify. Change its value from 01 to 00 and then click OK.

Click the + in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE - System - CurrentControlSet - Services - VxD.

Click directly on the COMBUFF folder to expose its entries in the right pane.

Right-click directly on Start and then click Modify. Change its value from 00 to 01 and then click OK.

Click directly on the VCACHE folder to expose its entries in the right pane.

Right-click directly on Start and then click Modify. Change its value from 00 to 01 and then click OK.

Close the registry editor, then reboot.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Click Start - Find - Files And Folders, select the hard drive to look in, then do a "find" for

VTCP.386

NDIS.VXD


Once they appear, right-click them, click Properties, then click the Version tab. VTCP.386 should have version 4.10.2223 and NDIS.VXD should have version 4.10.2224. Please confirm whether they do or not.

----------------------------------------------------------------

There are some settings changes we can make in your connection, but let's hold off on that for now. I don't want to throw too much at you at one time.

I hope you're printing all this off for future reference. (y)

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

log_splitter

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
235
Thanks again, Flavalee. First, I did find the two files (VTCP.386 & NDIS.VXD), and the values are confirmed as you showed them (4.10.2223 & 4.10.2224).

Now, I have another little "dilemma." Tomorrow (Monday morning) some friends are getting a big U-Haul truck & towbar. I'll be all day helping them load, fixing trailer lights, and connecting a big pickup to the towbar. Then, we're leaving for central Oregon (I'm in central Calif). Will be gone the rest of the week, and probably won't have access to a computer. I expect it will be the weekend when I can get back to this, but I'll follow the instructions in your last message and post back then. I "may" be able to get a little computer time tomorrow, but not much, so I don't expect to be back here until the end of the week.

However, I WILL be back, and will see this through. Thanks again for your patience....see ya in a week :)

Best....Larry (log_splitter)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top