1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Browser Settings

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by westone, Apr 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. westone

    westone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    I am using Windows ME and IE6 but I can no longer view any website on my computer at home.

    I can connect to the Internet but every website has the same error message "The page cannot be displayed - cannot find server".

    Even websites such as Google have the same error message.

    I am connecting to the Internet - there is and exchange of bytes shown.

    I have only basic knowledge of computers, but if someone can talk me through the settings to check it would be very much appreciated - I have been struggling with this for some time.


    Westone
    Manchester UK
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Since you are using WinME, and I assume the problem is a relatively recent one, have you tried using "System Restore" to return to a date when you had full connectivity?

    The issue is often the result of improperly removed "malware" which alters the Winsock lsp protocols.

    I would suggest trying System Restore and even if it works, posting a HijackThis Scanlog for review.

    To run System Restore, select Start > Run, enter msconfig and select "launch system restore".

    You can get HijackThis here:

    http://tomcoyote.com/hjt/

    Also the connectivity problem might be resolved by running lspfix, but I would suggest System Restore as the better option if available.

    http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm
     
  3. westone

    westone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Thanks for your help, you have solved a problem that I thought I would have to give up on.

    I did it in the order you suggested:


    1) "System Restore" - this did not work because there were no restore points that were earlier than the problem.

    2) I downloaded Hijack and made the following Scanlog;

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 07:14:24, on 26/04/2004
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 (5.50.4134.0100)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\SYMTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCSETMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINJECT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COPERNIC SUMMARIZER\CSAGENT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SIBER SYSTEMS\AI ROBOFORM\ROBOTASKBARICON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINSM32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\Monwow.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT

    6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02336F51-24CA-4422-AB63-18841ADF35E6} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ONSPEED\ONSPEED\3.52.1216.7\ECATBHO.DLL
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton

    Antivirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &RoboForm - {724d43a0-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Copernic Agent - {F2E259E8-0FC8-438C-A6E0-342DD80FA53E} - C:\PROGRA~1\COPERN~1\COPERN~1.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: ONSPEED - {4BC3AC04-3E56-411D-B465-4FEA06654611} - C:\PROGRAM

    FILES\ONSPEED\ONSPEED\3.52.1216.7\THINCLIENTTOOLBAR.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton

    Antivirus\NavShExt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SSDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SymTray - Norton SystemWorks] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton

    SystemWorks"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccSetMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [NPROTECT] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\Nprotect.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [CSINJECT.EXE] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\csinject.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CopernicSummarizerWatchdog] "C:\Program Files\Copernic Summarizer\CSAgent.exe" /thisismandatory
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [RoboForm] "C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboTaskBarIcon.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [CopernicPerUserTaskMgr] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CopernicPerUserTaskMgr.exe" /runonce
    O4 - Startup: CleanSweep Smart Sweep-Internet Sweep.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\csinsm32.exe
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Add animation to IncrediMail Style Box - C:\PROGRA~1\INCRED~1\bin\resources\WebMenuImg.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmtrans.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Search Using Copernic Agent - C:\Program Files\Copernic Agent\Web\SearchExt.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Summarize Using Copernic Summarizer - C:\Program Files\Copernic

    Summarizer\Web\SummarizePage.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR2.DLL/cmtrans.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Fill Forms &] - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Save Forms &[ - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Customize Menu &4 - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI

    RoboForm\RoboFormComCustomizeIEMenu.html
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: RoboForm (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: RF Toolbar &2 (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Fill Forms (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Fill Forms &] (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Save (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Save Forms &[ (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
    O15 - Trusted Zone: http://www.ntlworld.com

    -----------

    Ref: the connectivity problem might be resolved by running lspfix
    >
    > http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm

    I used this and it solved the problem - there were no files to remove but it did say;

    Since some errors result from misnumbered LSP entries rather than missing modules, the "Remove" list may be empty. Don't

    worry if this is the case; the misnumbered entries will be corrected when you press "Finish".

    This is what happened in this case - I pressed "Finish" then tried Google and other sites and found everything was fine.

    Thanks a lot for your help.

    Best wishes

    Westone
    Manchester UK
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Great!

    The Scanlog generally appears to be in order with the possible exception of this item:

    O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [CopernicPerUserTaskMgr] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CopernicPerUserTaskMgr.exe" /runonce

    "runonce" items are generally meant to be just that. They should not persist in a startup configuration once an application has been installed and the system rebooted. However this just may be a peculiar aspect of the Copernic installation.

    First I would suggest placing HijackThis in a permanent folder not directly on the desktop. This ensures that any deleted item can be restored by selecting Config > Backups and the .reg file will be retained for restoration.

    Having done that you can check and "fix" that particular "runonce" entry if you like. If some problem does require that it be restored, you can do that through HijackThis's "Backup" option.

    Program Name: CopernicPerUserTaskMgr
    Executable Name: CopernicPerUserTaskMgr.exe
    Required: User's choice
    Comments: Automatic tasking feature of Copernic Pro multi-search engine tool

    ref: http://www.lafn.org/webconnect/mentor/startup/PENINDEX.HTM

    edit

    One possibly serious problem I do see in that Scanlog is the lack of an entry for Scanregistry. This is a Win98/ME startup that backs up the registry each first boot of the day. LIke System Restore it can be used to resolve many problems if it is used promptly (there are 5 backup dates, usuallyl only the first four are restorable). In WinME this restore function can be invoked by running, from Start > run:

    scanreg /restore

    However you must have it enabled or you may restore a very old registry. This can even happen with no action on your part if Windows detects a damaged registry.

    You may have this item Unchecked in msconfig. To verify, go to Start > Run and enter msconfig and look for it under the Startup tab. If it is Unchecked, check it. If it is absent, follow these instructions to restore it:

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?postid=586210#post586210

    Note: WinME users seem to have problems renaming this file properly. If that occurs, let me know and I will give you manual instructions for editing the registry.

    Also if the actual file is missing, you do not have "SFC" so you will need to know the WinME method of "extracting" files:

    http://support.microsoft.com/defaul...port/kb/articles/Q265/3/71.ASP&NoWebContent=1

    You should have no trouble replacing it using the "extract" function it is not typically "in use".
     
  5. westone

    westone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    I have removed the "runonce" entry and the program still works OK.

    HijackThis has been placed in a permanent folder as suggested.

    Scanregistery does not show on the Startup tab but I have installed "SystemWorks 2004" very recently - it was bundled with Norton AntiVirus.

    This package includes Norton Registry Tracker which monitors changes to startup files, registry keys and .ini files - it has an undo feature.

    This package was installed after the problem you helped me with.

    Hopefully this will help prevent, or make recovery from future problems easier should they occur.

    I really struggle with the technical side of computers and have spent a lot of time trying to get out of difficulties when they happen - but I guess we learn from problems.

    Thanks for all your help.

    Best wishes

    Westone
    Manchester UK
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/223664

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice