1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

browser wont open

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bigdan, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bigdan

    bigdan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    My browsers, particularly IE (6) dont always respond when I try to open them. With IE about half the time when I click the icon nothing happens. If a then check task manager IE is indeed running and taking up about 14K of memory, but it never opens. If I try opening it again another instance will just open under task manager and nothing will show up. Now if I end all the IE processes in there and then start IE again it'll be fine. But I need to get this fixed. Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Dan
     
  2. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    55,687
    First Name:
    Mike
    Not sure this will help, but IE6 had a couple of updates. Have you tried updating it?
     
  3. bigdan

    bigdan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    nope, i dont even know how to! but i dont really want to anyway b/c i want to stick w/ IE 6 not get 7. i believe the update has 7, no?
     
  4. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    55,687
    First Name:
    Mike
  5. bigdan

    bigdan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    i unchecked enable third party browser extensions in the tools - options - advanced window and that did the trick! however now IE opens w/o the google toolbar and i need that. i checked it again, and the toolbar returned but IE went back to behaving the same way. im guessing its not the toolbar but some other addon thats creating the problem. how do i go about fixing this tho?
    thanks
    dan
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    With IE 7 you can enable/disable those add-ons individually to test through Tools > Add-ons.

    For IE 6 there are 3rd party utilities that can enable/disable "BHOs", which are the extensions you have currently disabled all together.

    http://windowsxp.mvps.org/toolbarcop.htm
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/697110

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice