1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Browsers not working!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hippie89, Feb 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hippie89

    hippie89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Hi!
    I am new and this is my first post.

    My problem is that my browsers are not working!
    I've tried I.E., Firefox and Opera, and it always says the page cannot be displayed or that it could not connect.

    I don't think the problem is internet connection since I can go on MSN :p

    I would very much appreciate your help.
    Thanks!
     
  2. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    Try pinging Google. Click start, click run, type cmd.
    A black dos prompt will appear.

    Type ping google.com

    Let us know if you get any replies. There should be 4 of them.
     
  3. hippie89

    hippie89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Hey ,

    Yes, I got four replies.
    Do you want me to copy/paste them here?
     
  4. Gnomad

    Gnomad

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Sounds like a corrupted Winsock, go to START, then RUN, type in cmd and hit ENTER, at the command prompt type in netsh winsock reset then hit ENTER.
     
  5. hippie89

    hippie89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I did it.

    I reset it.

    But it's still not working...
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's first do a fill stack and WINSOCK reset.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.



    Next, please do this.

    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    PING 216.109.112.135

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.





    Finally, I'd also like to see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. hippie89

    hippie89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Okay, so I have everything you asked for,
    I used an USB disk to transfert the text.

    I have only one little 'problem' I forgot to tell you,
    the computer that is currently having problems is in french !
    Wich means the replies I got are in french ...
    I will still post them anyways, hopefully you can still help me.

    FIRST TEST:

    Microsoft Windows [version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. Tous droits réservés.

    C:\Users\JM>PING 216.109.112.135

    Envoi d'une requête 'Ping' 216.109.112.135 avec 32 octets de données :

    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=113 ms TTL=51
    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=116 ms TTL=50
    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=110 ms TTL=51
    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=111 ms TTL=51

    Statistiques Ping pour 216.109.112.135:
    Paquets*: envoyés = 4, reçus = 4, perdus = 0 (perte 0%),
    Durée approximative des boucles en millisecondes :
    Minimum = 110ms, Maximum = 116ms, Moyenne = 112ms

    C:\Users\JM>PING yahoo.com

    Envoi d'une requête 'ping' sur yahoo.com [216.109.112.135] avec 32 octets de don
    nées :

    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=112 ms TTL=50
    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=112 ms TTL=50
    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=113 ms TTL=51
    Réponse de 216.109.112.135*: octets=32 temps=114 ms TTL=50

    Statistiques Ping pour 216.109.112.135:
    Paquets*: envoyés = 4, reçus = 4, perdus = 0 (perte 0%),
    Durée approximative des boucles en millisecondes :
    Minimum = 112ms, Maximum = 114ms, Moyenne = 112ms
     
  8. hippie89

    hippie89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    SECOND TEST:

    Microsoft Windows [version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. Tous droits réservés.

    C:\Users\JM>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Configuration IP de Windows

    Nom de l'hôte . . . . . . . . . . : PC-de-JM
    Suffixe DNS principal . . . . . . :
    Type de noeud. . . . . . . . . . : Hybride
    Routage IP activé . . . . . . . . : Non
    Proxy WINS activé . . . . . . . . : Non

    Carte réseau sans fil Connexion réseau sans fil 2*:

    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G122 Wireless U
    SB Adapter(rev.C) #2
    Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-19-5B-CF-8B-4C
    DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Oui
    Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui
    Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . : fe80::4430:ea8c:3af5:236b%11(préféré)
    Adresse IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(préféré)
    Masque de sous-réseau. . . .*. . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Bail obtenu. . . . . . . . .*. . . . . : jeudi 21 février 2008 17:33:01
    Bail expirant. . . . . . . . .*. . . . : jeudi 28 février 2008 17:33:01
    Passerelle par défaut. . . .*. . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Serveur DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    IAID DHCPv6 . . . . . . . . . . . : 251664731
    Serveurs DNS. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS sur Tcpip. . . . . . . . . . . : Activé

    Carte Ethernet Connexion au réseau local :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8039 PCI-E Fast Eth
    ernet Controller
    Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-B9-7F-A0-F9
    DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Oui
    Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui

    Carte Tunnel Connexion au réseau local* :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B7466362-453C-4DBF-8CDB-173E
    D40CDB77}
    Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Non
    Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui

    Carte Tunnel Connexion au réseau local* 6 :

    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{02CEF945-F436-49ED-A8C0-F0BD
    AB7DED73}
    Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Non
    Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui
    Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.3%13(préféré)
    Passerelle par défaut. . . .*. . . . . :
    Serveurs DNS. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS sur TCPIP. . . . . . . . . . . : Désactivé

    Carte Tunnel Connexion au réseau local* 7 :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Adresse physique . . . . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP activé. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Non
    Configuration automatique activée. . . : Oui



    I know french so I can try to translate if necessary ... :$
     
  9. Jeruvy

    Jeruvy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    If you have IPv6 enabled, try disabling it. You could confirm this by pinging the IPv6 address instead of the IPv4 one.

    Lot's of DNS updating with IPv6 going on so I wouldn't be surprised if that was the problem.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Changes that may help to increase the compatibility of Vista with older networking devices:



    Disable the IP Helper service:

    1. Hold the Windows key and type R, enter "services.msc" (without the quotes) and press Enter
    2. Scroll down to the IP Helper service, right click on it and select Properties
    3. In the dropdown box that says "Automatic" or "Manual", set it to Disabled and then click on "Apply"
    4. Then click on "Stop" to stop the service from running in the current session
    5. Click OK to exit the dialog



    Disable IPv6:

    1. Hold the Windows key and type R, enter "ncpa.cpl" (without the quotes) and press Enter
    2. Right click on each network connection and select "Properties"
    3. Remove the checkmark from the box next to "Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6)
    4. Click OK to exit the dialog

    NOTE: You should do this for each network connection.



    Disable the DHCP Broadcast Flag:

    Link: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/928233
    1. Hold the Windows key and type R, enter regedit and press Enter.
    2. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
    3. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\{GUID}
    4. In this registry path, click the (GUID) subkey to be updated.
    5. If the key DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag does not exist, use the Edit menu, point to New, and then click DWORD (32-bit) Value. In the New Value #1 box, type DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag, and then press ENTER. If the key exists, skip this step.
    6. Right-click DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag, and then click Modify.
    7. In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
    8. Close Registry Editor.
    NOTE: You should do this for each and every GUID subkey.
    NOTE2: (GUID) is a mnemonic for the individual subkeys, the actual text "GUID" does not appaer.




    The only program I'm aware of that currently relies on IPv6 is the new Windows Meeting Space. The first 2 changes will cause that program not to work - but will leave all of your normal (IPv4) connections unaffected. If it causes problems that you can't overcome, simply revert back to the original settings.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/684065

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice