1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Browsers Not Working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Bob LaBlah, Jan 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bob LaBlah

    Bob LaBlah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I have a freind with a problem......no really it's a freind!

    They have a Compaq desktop which is hard-wired to a 2wire 2700-hg modem/router. basically, they are unable to connect to the internet using that desktop. However, the wifi works just fine.

    Sometime last week the problem started with just unusual/slow computer behavior in general. I assumed it was a virus or spyware, so I downloaded Avast and Ad Aware. (At this time the browsers worked) Both found significant infections which were deleted. At this point the browsers still worked, but after doing a google search, the links on the results page would be redirected to another, non related site. (cutting and pasting the URL did the trick, though) Subequently, the browsers (IE7, Firefox, Safari) all just stopped working. Now when attempting to connect to the internet, they just come up with the screen "internet explorer cannot display the webpage." or equivalent for the respective browser.

    I've run multiple spyware, malware, and anti-virus software, (Malwarebytes, Ad Aware, Avast, pctools, spyware doctor) all have come up with infections which are then deleted. I am able to ping yahoo using ipconfig and FTP seems to work OK (avast updated its database while I was trying to troubleshoot all of this.)

    Any ideas on what to do next?

    Thanks for reading my long-winded post,
    Bob La Blah
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    or

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If the stack/WINSOCK repairs don't solve the problem there's probably a misconfigured non-Windows firewall (security suite) or still more malware or corruption.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You might try this as well so we can get a better idea of the issue.

    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. Bob LaBlah

    Bob LaBlah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the replies Terry and John. I tried resetting the winsock / tcp/ip stack to no avail. I guess I should have included that we are running windows XP Home SP3.

    Here is the info you requested:

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sylvia>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dublin2053
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net
    Ethernet adapter {C9AAD7CE-7B68-44B2-A057-4552BD83921D}:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Nortel IPSECSHM Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 44-45-53-54-42-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.241.150
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Control
    ler
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-A6-62-77-4C
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.64
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 19, 2009 11:08:36 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 20, 2009 11:08:36 A
    M
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sylvia>ping 192.168.0.64
    Pinging 192.168.0.64 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.64: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.64: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.64: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.64: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.64:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sylvia>ping 192.168.0.1
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255
    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sylvia>ping 206.190.60.37
    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=139ms TTL=55
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=140ms TTL=55
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=140ms TTL=55
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=143ms TTL=55
    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 139ms, Maximum = 143ms, Average = 140ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sylvia>ping yahoo.com
    Pinging yahoo.com [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=143ms TTL=55
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=142ms TTL=55
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=144ms TTL=55
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=143ms TTL=55
    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 142ms, Maximum = 144ms, Average = 143ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sylvia>
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have internet access and DNS is working, so a mis-configured non-Windows firewall is my top suspect.
     
  6. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,143
    Given the apparent serious infection described above, is it possible the system is still infected with something? I mean in addition to a misconfigured firewall. Maybe the malware tweaked the firewall settings.

    Peace...
     
  7. Bob LaBlah

    Bob LaBlah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Tom and Terry,

    I Just ran a full Adaware scan and it came up with another MyWebSearch infection. Even after deleting it, still no HTTP web access. I guess the good thing is I am able to get updates to the Adaware and Avast databases (FTP). Hopefully, they will eventually wipe out whatever it is. As far as I know, there is no other (besides windows) firewall running. Might it help to re-install IE7?

    Thanks again for all of your help,
    Bob
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    I definitely agree with Tom, and mentioned malware/corruption at the very end of my post # 2. I would have formatted the disk and installed Windows fresh days ago, but others believe in fighting malware off. The gold shields in the Malware Removal forum are very good at this.
     
  9. Bob LaBlah

    Bob LaBlah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks so much. I will try them.

    BTW, You all are doing incredible work here. I can see from the sheer numbers of posts that you have helped thousands. My hat's off to you.

    Many thanks,
    Bob
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, we've exchanged messages with thousands, some would dispute how many we helped! :D
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/791983

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice