1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Browsers not working

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by jolieapple, May 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jolieapple

    jolieapple Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Good Morning,
    I'm working on a Sony Vaio laptop with a 32bit Windows Vista. About a month ago, my Google Chrome browser stopped working so I installed Firebox, which seemed to work.
    However, when I try to stream videos from a website I'm a paying member to it doesn't work and the techs there say it might be best to switch browsers.
    I have tried downloading IE, Safari, Opera, and others and none of these seem to work.
    Also, my Itunes Store does not work.
    The common problem is that it says it cannot connect to the server, however my internet works fine through Firefox, MSN messenger and other computers on my network.

    I would like to be able to use other browsers, and my Itunes Store again.

    Please Help!
     
  2. petan

    petan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    update your flash player in firefox what browser you primary use does it work for other pages
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I don't see what connecting to iTunes has to do with Flash. Sounds like a firewall problem to me.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    "doesn't work" is pretty vague. Can you be more specific? Can you stream videos from other sites?

    "does not work" is petty vague. Can you be more specific?
     
  5. jolieapple

    jolieapple Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I have updated my Flash. No change.

    When I try to stream videos, it sends a message saying "Cannot connect to server", it also has a similar message when I try to open the Itunes store
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please describe your internet access (ethernet? wireless? through a router? etc.).

    Do you have a firewall or other security application that allows you to block specific sites? If so, check to see if any are blocked by accident.

    Anything additional we should know--such as you have reason to suspect you may be banned from some sites or that you are a "kid" whose parent's don't completely approve of your internet use? :)
     
  7. jolieapple

    jolieapple Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I have a wireless router...2 laptops on it. The other one works fine.

    I've disabled my spyware but no luck there. Both the website and the Itunes store, as well as other browsers worked fine until about a month ago.

    I have no reason to think i'd be banned from any sites... and i'm an adult :)
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    The other computer works fine with those sites?

    Are you connecting by wireless (with the problem machine)? If so, have you tried an ethernet connection to see if that makes a difference? Or a direct connection to the modem?

    Take a look at your HOSTS file (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts). Open it with Notepad. The default HOSTS contains a bunch of comments (lines beginning with #) and two lines:

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    ::1 localhost

    If there are any other lines they were added by malware or an anti-malware application. See if your sites are there.
     
  9. jolieapple

    jolieapple Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    The other computer works fine for the sites.
    I've tried connecting to the modem directly and using an ethernet connection. No change.

    # Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    ::1 localhost
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    Gotta be something running on that machine. But what? :confused:

    Try Safe Mode with Networking.
     
  11. huggie54

    huggie54

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,637
    hiya,can you turn UAC off in the users accounts in control panel,reboot then try the connection,if not work you can go back in and turn on again
     
  12. jolieapple

    jolieapple Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Safe mode with networking doesn't solve the problem.

    What is UAC?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,478
    First Name:
    Terry
    The only thing I can think of is a corrupted non-Windows firewall or security suite. Could even be one that was un-installed but did not go away completely and cleanly. But I haven't previously seen a problem quite like this one.

    UAC is User Access Control, the thing that keeps asking if you really initiated an install or other system change.
     
  14. jolieapple

    jolieapple Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    nope...doesn't work
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/926133

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice