1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Browsing Problem

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Illmatic94, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Illmatic94

Illmatic94 Thread Starter

Ok, I have a wireless router & server in my house which 3 computers use for the internet/printer. Recently we had a problem with the connection and our ISP came out and repaired the signal, which is now fine,

However, on my laptop, I am having problems viewing webpages. I know the connection is ok because the other computers are working fine, but the laptop gives me a "This Page Cannot Be Displayed" message in IE. I can however, connect to MSN Messenger, Poker programs etc. As far as I can tell it only won't allow to access http.

I have no knowledge of networking, TCP/IP, etc and so I'm completely lost as to what I should do, so I hoped maybe someone here could shed some light.

Thank You

2. Augie65

Augie65

In IE, click on Tools> Internet Options> on the General tab, click to Delete Cookies, Delete Files, and Clear History. On the Content tab> AutoComplete button> click to Clear Forms and Clear Passwords. Then click OK, Apply and OK. Close IE and then try the sites again.

3. Illmatic94

nope, that didnt work.
    I know the guys who were fixing the server did something with the IP address, would that have anything to do with it? As I said, I have no idea about these things, just seems to make sense that maybe the IPs are out of sync or something...

4. Augie65

Augie65

If you are running Windows XP try this.
    Start> Run> type cmd and hit OK.
    At the command prompt, type:
    ipconfig /flushdns then hit Enter.
    Next type:
    ipconfig /renew then hit Enter.
    Close command prompt, reboot and try again.

5. Illmatic94