1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bryangl

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by bryangl, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bryangl

bryangl Thread Starter

Hi,I'm new to this - my first seeking, with a curious problem. Vista Home basic/Compaq Presario notebook 2Gb. Suddenly my sidebar gadgets are represented with part of the image, some just as a bar of white. Similar thing with Google home page gadgets which just appear as rectangles and can't be removed, and when I just discovered this site and tried to register, the image I had to copy was not there. (registered from another machine). Everything else seems OK. Tried System Restore - no help. I'm lost. Can any kind soul help please?

2. Arctik

Arctik

Could you provide a screenshot of the error you are receiving?
    Just a stab in the dark here, but are your graphics drivers updated?

3. bryangl

bryangl Thread Starter

Thanks for replying so rapidly arctic. I could easily grab screenshots, but the sidebar has just two small white rectangles and a couple of urved lines representing a clockface. The iGoogle home page gadgets are just four rectangles 1. headed Google Calendar Viewer - an empty rectangle, 2. Live Weather, 3. New Scientist - latest headlines - it works, 4. iGoogle Theme Manager showing "Loading...." so apparently somethging is being blocked. Tried turning off Ad blocker - no result.