1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BSOD caused by driver ntoskrnl.exe

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Holyjoely, Dec 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Holyjoely

    Holyjoely Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    This is my crash dump:

    Code:
    ==================================================
    Dump File         : 123011-23306-01.dmp
    Crash Time        : 30/12/2011 17:06:13
    Bug Check String  : MEMORY_MANAGEMENT
    Bug Check Code    : 0x0000001a
    Parameter 1       : 00000000`00041790
    Parameter 2       : fffffa80`011f5f20
    Parameter 3       : 00000000`0000ffff
    Parameter 4       : 00000000`00000000
    Caused By Driver  : ntoskrnl.exe
    Caused By Address : ntoskrnl.exe+705c0
    File Description  : NT Kernel & System
    Product Name      : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    Company           : Microsoft Corporation
    File Version      : 6.1.7600.16841 (win7_gdr.110622-1503)
    Processor         : x64
    Crash Address     : ntoskrnl.exe+705c0
    Stack Address 1   : 
    Stack Address 2   : 
    Stack Address 3   : 
    Computer Name     : 
    Full Path         : C:\Windows\Minidump\123011-23306-01.dmp
    Processors Count  : 4
    Major Version     : 15
    Minor Version     : 7600
    Dump File Size    : 275,568
    ==================================================
    
    It only started happening yesterday, I used Uniblue DriverScanner to find a sound driver for my sound card so that I didn't have to open up my PC and check the serial number. DriverScanner found a few other drivers as well which I installed. After a reboot my PC was fine for a while until I started to play games, when I play games I almost always get this BSOD, perhaps because they are RAM intensive? I went to restore my drivers but DriverScanner had not made any restore points even though it said it was doing so during the installation of the new drivers. It's the first time I have used software to download and install my drivers and I won't be using it again. I am wondering whether to try a system restore but if anybody else has had this problem then your input would be greatly appreciated.

    Code:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 760 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4054 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 689718 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P7H55-M SI
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
    
     
  2. fel1x

    fel1x

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    562
    yes try a restore to before this happened
    and
    start type sfc /scannow and let it do its thing (30 mins or so ) run it twice after you have tried the restore
     
  3. Holyjoely

    Holyjoely Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Alright, I'll report back after it's finished. Thanks for the reply.

    EDIT: It turns out that I don't have any restore points before the 28th. I installed the drivers on the 27th. Any ideas? I could obviously reinstall if worst came to worst but I would prefer it if not. Once again, thanks for your reply.
     
  4. fel1x

    fel1x

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    562
    do you have an image saved via windows recovery , i tend to make a new image every month

    ntosk is usually a messed up bit which recorrects after a clean up using sfc and checking your hard disc start my comp right click C drive properties tools error check tick both re boot may take ages though
     
  5. maky2000

    maky2000

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    i fixed the NTOSKRNL.exe error yesterday by taking out the hard drive into another working machine and do a disk repair. I just did chkdsk /r /f and it worked
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1033727

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice