1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BSOD crash during XP install

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by toodlesoodles, Apr 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. toodlesoodles

    toodlesoodles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    This is a continutation of another of my threads. Thought I'd make a new one because the problem has changed since the original thread and it'll just be alot less confusing.

    Here is the sytstem I've just built.

    - Thermaltake ToughPower 500W Modular Power Supply
    - Intel Core 2 Duo E2200 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.20GHz
    - Samsung SH-S203D 20x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter
    - Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H GeForce 7100 Micro-ATX (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
    - Samsung SpinPoint T 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache
    - OCZ 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 Dual Channel Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2

    When I boot up the computer and start to install Windows XP it gets to the first part where it says 'Setup is loading files' and after that it says 'Setup is loading Windows' and then the screen goes blue and I get that message that tells you the computer has been shut down to prevent damage. The error code is - 0x0000007b (0xf78d2524, 0xc0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
    The error code may not have been the same, but I had something very similar to this happen with my last build. The difference being that the crashes would come at random times, but mostly during gaming. In this case the crash comes at exactly the same part each time, just as 'Setup is loading Windows'. With my last build the problem was my MSI motherboard didn't like running my GeIL RAM in dual channel. Obviously with this in mind my first thought was to try each stick of RAM, one at a time. Unfortunately no luck, although the first time I did it the error code did change slightly - 0x0000007b (0xf79e3524, 0xc0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000

    I've tried running a scan on my hard drive and no errors were found. I also ran memtest through twice and again no errors were found. I've also, of course, looked inside my PC to check all connections are in firmly and nothing has come loose.

    Really stumped as to what could be the problem. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. steven1350

    steven1350

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    Use the program memtest86 to test your ram
     
  3. toodlesoodles

    toodlesoodles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Dude, I did!
     
  4. steven1350

    steven1350

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    my bad, didnt read that part :p

    Well, do you have another disk with windows on it? Maybe your disk is scratched / defective, or a problem with your dvd drive
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
  6. toodlesoodles

    toodlesoodles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    UPDATE!

    UPDATE

    Okay so I thought I'd try my IDE DVDRW in the new build incase it was the SATA DVDRW causing the problem and I got past the crash screen! However as it moves on to the next part of the setup it stops and says,

    'Setup did not find any hard disks installed on your computer' then tells me to check that it's connected properly and suggests I install any hard disk related drivers.

    So, for some reason it's just not detecting that my hard drive is connected. I'm hoping that buying a floppy drive and installing the SATA RAID drivers will solve this (although apparently SP2 (which is on my XP install) does include the required SATA RAID drivers), or perhaps updating the bios.

    Thoughts?
     
  7. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    In this thread;

    http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/700418-new-pc-build-problem-help.html#post5759691

    the information you provided did not indicate your board supported the E2200 processor.

    Did you check with Gigabyte to see if your board would support the E2200 processor with a BIOS update?

    If BIOS needs to be updated to read the processor microcode correctly, the machine is not going to operate properly until BIOS recognizes the processor microcode.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/700685

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice