[BSOD igxpdx32.dll] Star Wars Battlfront 2

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Orozco14

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
78
I play Star Wars Battlefront 2 and I updated my Mobile Intel(R) 945GM Express Chipset Family Video Card version to 6.14.10.4814. But I don't remember what my previous version was because my older version didn't give a blue screen of death when I played Star Wars. I am wondering what the older version is so I could downgrade.


P.S. My computer is an Inspiron E1405
 

Orozco14

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
78
I know for a fact this game can run on my computer because I have been playing for a while but then I updated my video card to version 6.14.10.4814, and now it gets a BSOD after a few maps of gaming. All I am looking for is an early video card version under this one. Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
6,118
I know for a fact this game can run on my computer because I have been playing for a while but then I updated my video card to version 6.14.10.4814, and now it gets a BSOD after a few maps of gaming. All I am looking for is an early video card version under this one. Thanks in advance.
Could you please check here first? http://www.canyourunit.com/
 

Orozco14

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
78
The only thing I am missing is the Vertex Shader but I'm telling you this game runs really smoothly with my video card.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,291
Here's the list of officially supported GFX chipsets for that game:

Supported Chipsets:

*ATI Radeon 8500/9000/9200 family
*ATI Radeon 9500/9600/9700/9800 family
*ATI Radeon X300/X600/X700//X800/X900
*NVIDIA GeForce3 family
*NVIDIA GeForce4 family excluding the GeForce4 MX
*NVIDIA GeForceFX family
*NVIDIA GeForce6 family
*NVIDIA GeForce7 family


Anything not on that list is not guaranteed to function. It appears that you got lucky by being able to run it earlier with your integrated Intel graphics, but that's all it was, luck. Without the proper hardware capabilities (shader model included), it won't run properly.
 

Orozco14

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
78
Sorry for my rudeness but wasn't anyone listening to my request? I did point out that I didn't get any Blue Screens of death when I had my old card. I am just looking for a earlier version under 6.14.10.4814 so I can play the game again.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,291
Sorry for my rudeness but wasn't anyone listening to my request? I did point out that I didn't get any Blue Screens of death when I had my old card. I am just looking for a earlier version under 6.14.10.4814 so I can play the game again.
We did listen. The fact that you were able to play before does not change the fact that your chipset is not supported by the game. As I mentioned, your ability to play the game previously was pure luck.

The only thing I can suggest for you at this point is to try a Windows system restore to a point earlier than the date you upgraded to the newer graphic driver. Unless you have the original driver discs that came with your PC, it can be extremely difficult to find old drivers. The newer versions are released because the manufacturer has found problems with the previous drivers, and develops fixes for them. Obviously in your case, one of the negative side effects caused Battlefront 2 to not be playable anymore.

Try the system restore, and if that doesn't work, I'm not sure that there will be any other options available to you. Good luck!
 

Orozco14

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
78
I see. Well thank you anyway for your time but I will look for a solution somehow.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,291
I see. Well thank you anyway for your time but I will look for a solution somehow.
Did you try the system restore?

It should undo any system changes you made before a certain date, and you can pick which day you want to restore to. It might solve the problem.
 

Orozco14

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
78
It won't solve the problem. My computer was reinstalled and the video driver updated.
 

Orozco14

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
78
I tried downloading a few of these. For one, the download mirrors had errors. When I tried to download from all the mirrors what seems like Japanese shows up. If there is anything else that can downgrade my video card that would help alot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top