BSOD Problem

oddvar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
21
So, ok: I was able to run through step 1-3, creating an admin account and unistall popcorn. I then started on the first scan
DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
I got to about 20 % when BSOD restarted the computer.
After restart the admin account was gone (as if it never existed) and popcorn reinstalled.
To run the two scans I need to buy myself more time, but I don't know how. I have the impression that the more processes run, the faster BSOD kicks in (doing nothing seems to buy me maybe ten minutes while running a scan seen to crash the computer faster).
Do you have any ideas how I can buy myself enough time to run the scans?
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,216
Perform the previous steps: enable the Administrator account, sign out and sign in with that account.

After that, run Autoruns. I would like to see if I miss something from the Start-up process.
  • Please download AutoRuns and save it to your desktop.
  • Right click on the folder then select Extract all...
  • Verify Show extracted files when complete is checked then click Extract.
  • Right click on autoruns64.exe (not autorunsc64.exe) and select Run as administrator.
  • Wait until the lower left hand corner of the window shows Ready.
  • Hit the Ctrl + S key at the same time.
  • Save the file to your Desktop using the default File name.
  • Please zip and attach the file here.
 

oddvar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
21
Perform the previous steps: enable the Administrator account, sign out and sign in with that account.

After that, run Autoruns. I would like to see if I miss something from the Start-up process.
  • Please download AutoRuns and save it to your desktop.
  • Right click on the folder then select Extract all...
  • Verify Show extracted files when complete is checked then click Extract.
  • Right click on autoruns64.exe (not autorunsc64.exe) and select Run as administrator.
  • Wait until the lower left hand corner of the window shows Ready.
  • Hit the Ctrl + S key at the same time.
  • Save the file to your Desktop using the default File name.
  • Please zip and attach the file here.
I hope this is the one:
 

Attachments

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,216
I have to review carefully the created zip file.

Meanwhile,

enable the Administrator account as before, sign out from W-book and sign in with Administrator. Then create a password for the W-book account and restart. Can you see both the accounts on the sign in screen now?

To create a password for the W-book:
  • In the Search area type Control Panel and select it when it appears.
  • Select View by category.
  • Select User Accounts.
  • Add or remove users accounts.
  • Choose W-book.
  • Select insert a password for the specific account and follow the prompts.
  • Restart the computer.
 

oddvar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
21
I have to review carefully the created zip file.

Meanwhile,

enable the Administrator account as before, sign out from W-book and sign in with Administrator. Then create a password for the W-book account and restart. Can you see both the accounts on the sign in screen now?

To create a password for the W-book:
  • In the Search area type Control Panel and select it when it appears.
  • Select View by category.
  • Select User Accounts.
  • Add or remove users accounts.
  • Choose W-book.
  • Select insert a password for the specific account and follow the prompts.
  • Restart the computer.
After several BSOD crashes I finally managed to enter as administrator and set a password for W-book. As I expected the password for W-book and the admin account was gone when I restarted.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,216
Can you take a good photo of the Blue Screen you are getting and attach it please?
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,216
You said that you tried to reinstall the operating system.

How did you try that?

I would like you to create a bootable USB drive with Windows 10, to use it for repair the computer (at least for now).

1. Prepare a bootable USB drive with Windows 10

These links will guide you how to do it:

Create installation media for Windows
Download Windows 10

2. Make your computer boot from USB drive

You have to change boot order, so when the time comes, the computer will boot from the USB drive, installing Windows from scratch.

This link maybe helpful: How to Change Computer BIOS Settings


Let me know if you were able to go through the procedure.
 

oddvar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
21
You said that you tried to reinstall the operating system.

How did you try that?

I would like you to create a bootable USB drive with Windows 10, to use it for repair the computer (at least for now).

1. Prepare a bootable USB drive with Windows 10

These links will guide you how to do it:

Create installation media for Windows
Download Windows 10

2. Make your computer boot from USB drive

You have to change boot order, so when the time comes, the computer will boot from the USB drive, installing Windows from scratch.

This link maybe helpful: How to Change Computer BIOS Settings


Let me know if you were able to go through the procedure.
does this mean a fresh windows installation, losing whatever files I have on the computer. If so I am gonna need a little time to save what I can before doing it???
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,216
No. Not clean install yet. We are going to try a repair.
 

oddvar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
21
No. Not clean install yet. We are going to try a repair.
OK, I was unable to make a bootable usb from the laptop since it takes too long and the computer crash before it's done. However I made one using a 2nd laptop, I hope that works just fine.
I set the computer to boot from usb and got this screen (first image).
Now: If I go for repair computor my next screen is pic nr two.
From there I chose 'Use a device' and clicked. After clicking USB (the only option) on the next pic I come to picture 3 in attachment.
Now; Clicking next takes me back to picture one and we're back to square one. I have done this a few times and it repeats itself.
If instead I clock troubleshoot on pic 2 I end up on pic 4, but I do not think this is what I was supposed to do.
The only alternative then is to click Install on pic 1, but that seem to take me to a fresh install where they ask for product key which I don't have since windows came preinstalled.
It appears I can go on, choosing windows version 10 pro etc, but I chose to abort for the moment to avait you advice.
 

Attachments

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,216
From screen 2 you have to choose Troubleshoot.

Then, I would go for resetting the computer. So you will choose Reset.

That means that you will lose the programs/applications installed, but you can keep your personal files.
 

oddvar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2021
Messages
21
From screen 2 you have to choose Troubleshoot.

Then, I would go for resetting the computer. So you will choose Reset.

That means that you will lose the programs/applications installed, but you can keep your personal files.
from screen two, clicking troubleshoot I come to this screen. There is a system restore but I cannot see any resetting the computer. Which one should I chose
 

Attachments

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,216
What is the version of your Windows?

Write the following command in the Search area and then press Enter:

winver

Take a screenshot of what you get please.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top