1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BSOD - stop code 0x000000f4

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by JoePalooka, Sep 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JoePalooka

    JoePalooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Since 9/1 I have been getting BSOD at least once a day after 8 or so hours of operation. I might be doing something or doing nothing. It doesn't seem to matter. The latest stop code was 0x000000f4(0x00000003, 0x85288da0, 0x85288f14, 0x80604418) This has happened 11 times since 9/1. Never the same parameters and three of them were 0x0000008e but the last 7 were 0x000000f4. I have run memtest 7 times. No errors. Ran Spybot, AdAware, full dos scan anti virus, dumped a number of trash programs just because I could. Even ran two registry cleanup programs. Searched MSDN for help, the answer may be there but I got lost pretty quickly. Searched Google and ended the same way except I found you guys. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I am operating a Dell 8300 3GHZ - 1 G ram - 3 HDs total 400 GB - 2 17" monitors and Win XP SP2.
     
  2. peterdiva

    peterdiva

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Post some minidump files. Look in c:\windows\minidump. Zip up 5 or 6 of the most recent ones.
     
  3. JoePalooka

    JoePalooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Windows/minidump is empty - I have enabled for next bsod.
     
  4. JoePalooka

    JoePalooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    First minidump a/o 7PM 9/11
     
  5. JoePalooka

    JoePalooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    sorry - zipped now
     

    Attached Files:

  6. peterdiva

    peterdiva

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Maybe a hard drive problem. Run chkdsk /r and make a new pagefile - instructions (second half of page). Set both min and max to 2048mb. Post any new dump files.
     
  7. flyingtux

    flyingtux

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    it might be a memory problem.

    run a memtest.
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    From the minidump it appears to be an "insufficient resource" issue. This could be ram or disk space.

    Have you tried doing a "system restore" to a date prior to the problem? This usually resolves all but hardware errors.

    They can be undone if not helpful.

    Run msconfig and select "launch system restore".

    By the way this belongs to PC Tools (spyware doctor?) and is a "filter driver" of some kind.

    Unable to load image iksysflt.sys

    http://www.runscanner.net/getmd5.aspx?MD5=DBF937414B9630252CB48E6863139C54&process=iksysflt.sys

    I'd get rid of it.
     
  9. net40

    net40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    For 3 hd's and other devices you need a good power supply and good cooling overall (always needed). Thus check if all fans are working, check the temperature of your processor (i.e. in BIOS), and check if your PSU is above 400W (a bare minimum 20A or more on +12V). Additionally, run check disk and defragment your system drive (always helpful). If no improvement, try removing some devices. May also try to boot to a different partition (either Windows or Linux or even DOS - to determine if the problem is hard drive related).
     
  10. peterdiva

    peterdiva

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    139
  11. JoePalooka

    JoePalooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Wish to thank all you guys for your kind interest in my problem.I have tried to heed all of the suggestions so far. Sent a mini dump, zeroed and reset page file to 2G, ran chkdsk /f/r, Ran memtest 4 days ago (7 Passes w/out error), defragged 3 HDs, removed spyware doctor (iksysflt.sys), also some other spyware programs. Only one left, Counterspy. Cleaned and defragged registry. As far as load is considered I have been running 3 HDs since march of 05 with no problem. The box is blown clean monthly (hair dryer) And now I must wait, the problem happens after 8 to 12 hours of uptime and due to all my actions has not operated that long sinceTuesday. I again want to thank all of you and now we will wait.
     
  12. JoePalooka

    JoePalooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I am now into the fourth day without a BSOD. My opinion is the sys file from Spy Doctor was the source of the problem. All other actions with the exception of zeroing the page file are regular actions. My fingers remain crossed but after three and a half days the problem is probably licked. It is with great appreciation that I thank all of you guys for helping this old dubber. Let us now consider this thread closed.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/622560