1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BSOD when playing games usually a few minutes in

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by elliotP890, Jan 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,110
    On the first dump you were playing
    aces
    I think
    You have AVAST
    try again and this time DISABLE AVAST monitoring

    Also do you have an external HDD or flash pen connected
    if so disconnect those as well when you try
     
  2. elliotP890

    elliotP890 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    By the first dump do you mean the latest one or earliest one? and do you mean turn off Avast and try playing the game again?
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,110
    Sorry me using shortcuts the first one I have analysed 6 Jan
    On the one for the 7 you were playing Borderlands
    There is actually, although far more than on Who Crashed no really useful information
    On that one as well I suspect either
    1. Avast
    2. the graphics driver
    3. Could be other errors we will explore that after you have tried my suggestions


    So disable Avast - and try
    Disconnect that external sata drive you have connected - I think
    If still no good
    try the 560ti update - personally that is the least likely I think
     
  4. elliotP890

    elliotP890 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    I think that the driver actually may have been the problem because it seems to work fine now, just played for 10 mins and no blue screen so far. I also noticed that my current graphics driver was really out of date although I always thought that it was up to date so anyway yeah i think that driver has fixed it

    Thanks a lot for all the help man, im really appreciative that you used your time to help me :)
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,110
    I know - I spotted it myself
    I am really pleased for you if that sorts it

    As a matter of interest on the other dump in November the cause was APPARENTLY a netgear wireless adapter - usb I think - am I correct did you have one so in use
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,110
    I am signing off good night.
    When you are happy it is fixed - please mark the topic solved by clicking the mark solved button on your post

    If you go here
    http://www.geforce.co.uk/drivers

    you can check yourself for drivers updates for that card - although it is not necessary to update unless you are having problems with anew game for instance
    NEVER install any driver except the WHQL ones - CERTAINLY never a BETA that is for those who wish to test new drivers.

    Good luck and goodnight and thanks for being so clearly appreciative
     
  7. elliotP890

    elliotP890 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    alright sorry to bring this up again but I'm now getting these same Blue screen problems again. This is after I have updated my graphics drivers, removed Avast and AVG because apparently they dont mix well with windows 7 yet I am still getting these blue screen problems when playing games. Any ideas? could be my netgear wireless adapter maybe but I'm not sure
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,110
    It is not - only that they do mix well with Windows 7 - you should never run two anti-virus programs both of which provide real time protection. They will conflict and cause all manner of problems, including actually lessening your protection

    So having uninstalled AVG and AVAST - what are you using now please

    send the dump file from the latest BSOD please
     
  9. elliotP890

    elliotP890 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    ok I didn't have Avast and AVG installed at the same time, just AVG after i uninstalled Avast and right now I just use the standard windows antivirus
     

    Attached Files:

  10. elliotP890

    elliotP890 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    any news? Also just now I had another BSOD and I tried to reboot my pc and these beeps were coming from my pc ?
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,110
    1. I have analysed the dump from the 16 Feb, I only have time to do the one tonight
    Doing these is a long job, it produces pages of results for each dump

    2. It is again related to memory
    you were playing guns of icarus
    when a page fault occurred

    3. The actual dump is here
    Windows 7 Kernel Version 7601 (Service Pack 1) MP (4 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS Personal
    Built by: 7601.18247.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.130828-1532
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff800`03004000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`032476d0
    Debug session time: Sun Feb 16 09:20:41.005 2014 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:19:17.285
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1a)
    # Any other values for parameter 1 must be individually examined.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 0000000000041287, The subtype of the bugcheck.
    Arg2: 000000000003b80e
    Arg3: 0000000000000000
    Arg4: 0000000000000000

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------

    TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : e:\dump_analysis\program\triage\modclass.ini, error 2

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x1a_41287

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: WIN7_DRIVER_FAULT

    PROCESS_NAME: GunsOfIcarusOn

    CURRENT_IRQL: 0

    TRAP_FRAME: fffff88007169760 -- (.trap 0xfffff88007169760)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=0000000000000000 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=00000000000000b0
    rdx=0000000000000001 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff800030a0776 rsp=fffff880071698f0 rbp=fffff88007169920
    r8=ffffffffffffffff r9=fffff88007169ae0 r10=fffff88002f64180
    r11=fffff880071697b0 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0 nv up ei pl zr na po nc
    nt!MiIssueHardFault+0xe2:
    fffff800`030a0776 00965e040000 add byte ptr [rsi+45Eh],dl ds:00000000`0000045e=??
    Resetting default scope

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from fffff80003012d2e to fffff80003079bc0

    STACK_TEXT:
    fffff880`071695f8 fffff800`03012d2e : 00000000`0000001a 00000000`00041287 00000000`0003b80e 00000000`00000000 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`07169600 fffff800`03077cee : 00000000`00000001 00000000`0003b80e fffffa80`085b1100 00000000`00000005 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x454f5
    fffff880`07169760 fffff800`030a0776 : fffff880`07169b60 fffff800`03079242 fffff880`07169a38 00000000`00000019 : nt!KiPageFault+0x16e
    fffff880`071698f0 fffff800`0308728a : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 ffffffff`ffffffff 00000000`00000000 : nt!MiIssueHardFault+0xe2
    fffff880`07169980 fffff800`03077cee : 00000000`00000000 00000000`7758c550 00000000`00000001 00000000`0890fb74 : nt!MmAccessFault+0x146a
    fffff880`07169ae0 00000000`775d720c : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiPageFault+0x16e
    00000000`0890e738 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x775d720c


    STACK_COMMAND: kb

    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+454f5
    fffff800`03012d2e cc int 3

    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 1

    SYMBOL_NAME: nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+454f5

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: nt

    IMAGE_NAME: ntkrnlmp.exe

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 521ea035

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x1a_41287_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+454f5

    BUCKET_ID: X64_0x1a_41287_nt!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+454f5

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------


    4. The meaning of that meory management is here
    Bug Check 0x1A: MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

    and you will see that parameter one on your dump is this
    0x41287
    An illegal page fault occurred while holding working set synchronization


    5. I cannot unfortunately get a further clue despite examing all pages of the dump

    6. YOU have on that Dell XPS8300 - 4Gb of ram I think
    Going back to the Memtest post
    Take out whatever sticks to leave JUST one in the slot that must be populated
    RUN memtest again

    7. On the post where you had difficulty getting memtest to run you posted
    the CD should NOT have the mmetest disk image file on it, when you open it to explore the files

    8. I know you say you have run memtest but please run it again, this time checking that you have burnt the CD using the ISO burner I sent you AND watching please for it to complete the passes.
    Obviously not all the time it is running, but so you can see the screen of the image I have attached to that post regarding it - that was post 2 and it shows that the run has completed 9% of test 4.
    EACH cycle of one complete pass is 8 to 10 tests - each test subjecting the ram to various read and write functions.

    Therefore you need to watch for it to complete one cycle of 8 to 10 tests and then watch it start again.
    Ensure please two complete cycles.


    9. I feel reasonably certain it is a ram fault - HOWEVER unless the dump identifies a particular cause, it is difficult to know.

    10. Software can cause the same problem, for instance a program called Tor or any one of another 6 or so names that is a means of hiding your IP address or similar can cause this problem - but from what I have seen on the dump I cannot Identify anything that would be suspect.
     
  12. elliotP890

    elliotP890 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    ok I will run the Memtest again, this time i'll leave it running overnight, and also what do you mean by an illegal page fault exactly?
    Did the crash also say I had installed Tor because I don't remember doing so?
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,110
    NO


    MEMTEST
    Run it on each of the sticks of ram please NOT the sticks of ram together as on item 6 on my previous, as memtest does not id which stick if there is an error. So then you have to test it again with separate sticks to see if the address of the mem is the same
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1117031

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice