1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

bsod when trying to connect to wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SpectresShadow, Aug 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SpectresShadow

    SpectresShadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    I'm currently trying to get my mom's laptop working with it's built in wifi. So far, everytime I try to connect to my network I get a blue screen of death. I am at this moment running avast anti-virus full system scan after having run full system scan with malwarebytes. The system she is using is windows 7 home premium 32 bit sp-1. I will post more information as I obtain it. Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    make and model of the PC
    then we can see what the driver maybe

    can you connect to the router with a cable and connect to the internet without a blue screen

    also what does the blue screen say
     
  3. SpectresShadow

    SpectresShadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    HP G60

    It works just fine using ethernet cable.

    See the attached photos
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    Athr.sys is a driver file from company Atheros Communications, Atheros Extensible Wireless LAN device driver

    can you look in device manager and post back the exact model of the Atheros wireless adapter


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. SpectresShadow

    SpectresShadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Here is a screenshot of the device manager.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    Drivers for the other windows operating system
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-drivers.php
    You need to look down the page for your particular adapter model and then look across the columns to find your windows version.
    Now click on the blue tick mark in the column under your windows version.
    This will open another page for that particular adapter and that windows version.

    Now click on the download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    To install the driver you will need to do the following

    Extract the downloaded zip file into a folder on the PC
    then

    For Vista;
    > Start Globe
    > Control Panel
    > System and maintenance
    > Scroll down to Device manager
    > network adaptors, click on the + >
    > Right click on the AR5007(EG) Adapter
    > click on Update Driver Software...
    > click on Browse my computer for driver software
    > click on the Button Browse...
    > Locate the folder you extracted the downloaded zip file to
    > Next
    Click OK and Windows will install the driver for you.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. SpectresShadow

    SpectresShadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    The driver for the atheros adapter is already up to date. I have the hp on the wifi network thanks to a netgear n150 that was given for test purposes. Could the drivers for that interfere with the workings of the drivers for the atheros? I know that that kind of thing happens with different antivirus programs installed at the same time.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    Yes , the wireless utility manager programs can conflict with each other , so make sure only one is running
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Reinstall it, as the installed instance could be corrupted.
     
  10. SpectresShadow

    SpectresShadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    I have tried uninstalling the netgear wireless drivers to see if the managers were interfering with each other. It was not that, I still got the blue screen when I tried to connect. Next I am going to try reinstalling the driver for the atheros and see what happens.
     
  11. SpectresShadow

    SpectresShadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Thank you all for trying to help but the computer is no longer in my possession. My mom took it back and is just going to use the netgear device to connect. If she has me work on it again I may come back to this issue but it is no longer a concern for me right now. And no I did not have a chance to uninstall/reinstall the atheros driver because I had to return it an hour after my previous post and my internet was taking a while to download the driver.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    thanks for taking the time to let us know
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063712