Bsod

Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
DS
The only thing I could find different is Hewee is using a link to a site that plays wav. Below is code for the call.
Dave
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2000
Messages
1,995
davey

Thanks. I noticed when it first started to happen was the same time that hewee had made that post with the wav. That must be it but wonder why?
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
It might be because he is using the embed command. Take a look at this thread http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39020&highlight=embed+src and you notice that Bobby says
I use redirect browser detectors on my site because the embed src commands for waves and midi files are interpreted differently by Explorer and Netscape.


here's heewee's link, which does not display properly on that thread, or at least not for me.
http://www.the-earchives.com/wavs/s/stooge34.wav
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
E-mailed Mike to have a look and see if he can check from his end.
I suspect it may have to do with the plug-in required to run it or how the plug-in is handled. Since I do not have the problem nor can I recreate it I have a tough time trying to find the cause.
Well we will have to wait an see if other have an idea or Mike has some thoughts.
Dave
 

Dark Star

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
".........the embed src commands for waves and midi files are interpreted differently by Explorer and Netscape."

BINGO........

Thanks Davey, I can't recreate the problem either, so we'll see what Mike says.

DS
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
DS
I think Randy hit the nail squarely. This is the first time I have seen someone embed a wav here at TSG. I not sure it would be worth Mikes effort to change the coding to allow the embedding seamlessly. We will see, He may have some tricks up his sleeve!
Wait :eek: He's wearing a TSG Tee Shirt.
Dave
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Let's take a quick poll!

I use IE 5.5+ and only see a placeholder where hewee posted that wav.


What are DarkStar and LadyLisa using, as well as you Dave?
 

Dark Star

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
"I use IE 5.5+ and only see a placeholder where hewee posted that wav."

Ditto here...........

Thanks guys :)
 

Dark Star

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Randy,

That is correct, now this is what is weird Lisa tells me that she is using IE 5.5 just like we are. :confused: hmmmm

DS
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
I see a typical windows media bar with the stop start and slider.
I am running IE5.5 Sp2
Dave
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Here is some info I found concerning the actual link of Hewees.
I suspect it has to do with the plugins rather than the browser.
Dave

Edit: Curious part is my media player is ver 7.1
 

Attachments

Dark Star

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Randy, davey,

This is getting to be like a can of worms, I'll go along with "the plugins rather than the browser."

I just did a file search here just to find what I have and Geeeeez Louise I'm srambled right now 'cause I can't even get to where you got to..........

How do I find what ver. Media player I have here? I know it's in properties right?

Edit: Now I see that you show 6.4 and you've 7. something.

DS
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top