1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BSoD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 3xp0, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 3xp0

    3xp0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I get the blue screen of death when I try to start up my laptop. Right Before the Login Screen I get the BSoD. With this stop message 0x0000008E (0xC0000005, 0x8052E787, 0xAA4AF6A4, 0x00000000). The underlined error codes change when I try to startup in Safe Mode or a regular boot.
     
  2. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    need more information, what brand and model of laptop, what changes have been made recently, what version of windows.
     
  3. 3xp0

    3xp0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Acer Aspire 3690
    Windows Xp Media Center Edition Version 2002 Sp3
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) M CPU
    420 @ 1.60 GHz
    1.60 GHz, 504 MB of RAM
    No changes recently.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    MemScope (Floppy and CD images.)
    Microsoft Memory Test (floppy or CD ISO image)
    Memtest86

    If you have enough memory sticks, you can test them by removing one at a time and see if the problem disappears.

    If you are running Vista and can boot up, go to Start > Search and type:

    mdsched.exe

    Choose to run a memory diagnostic on next boot. Or, you can boot from the DVD and run it from there.
     
  5. 3xp0

    3xp0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I cannot get to the login screen. Its windows XP
    These are my specs. If you push the computer by my name you can see them. But here they are also.
    Acer Aspire 3690
    Windows Xp Media Center Edition Version 2002 Sp3
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) M CPU
    420 @ 1.60 GHz
    1.60 GHz, 504 MB of RAM
    No changes recently to my laptop.
    Thanks for the suggestions.
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Try the memory test.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755489

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice