1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

BT HomeHub 3 Wireless Issues

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Luculentevan, Dec 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Luculentevan

    Luculentevan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Hi there,

    Recently we've been having issues with out BT HomeHub 2. We phoned BT and they were like "blah blah blah" and sent us the new and 'improved' HomeHub 3.

    Set it up, looking all pretty and nice. Hook up all of the gadgets in the house (takes an age!), and then I begin to notice problems.

    My Xbox kept dropping me from parties and sometimes from live; my PC stops loading web pages, and little"wireless network is now connected" bubbles appear, even as I write now [​IMG]

    I wasn't sure what the problem was, whether it was the broadband service or the hubs wireless (which I presumed it was). I fiddled in the settings, setting the channel from 'smart-auto' (or something) to 11 and that made no difference. I turned the Hub firewall off ( :eek: ) and that didn't do anything. I wondered whether it was to do with WPA2...

    And then, just now, I was sitting watching Merlin when I noticed out of the corner of my eye the hub flashing. I looked, but saw nothing; I thought I was imagining things. Then I saw it again! So I decided to watch the hub, and sure enough the wireless light was flashing on and off, only for about a second. This is what is dropping my connection everywhere.

    Here's a video of the light. Please excuse the darkness: http://youtu.be/6QzG0YtoILI

    Does anyone know how to fix this problem, or is anyone else encountering it?

    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    looks likea router problem i the wireless is going off like that - but i need to look at the user manuall to see what that may be an indication of ...
    EDIT
    read this user manual http://btsupport.custhelp.com/ci/fattach/get/2040143/1311000615/redirect/1 and nothing on that type of wireless light status - flashes if wps used - but thats not the issue
    Unless interference is changing channel - but you said you had changed from auto to channel 11


    in the meantime - can you post an xirrus screen shot - and leave that running - we should see the drop out on the graph
    but can also look for wireless interference from other networks and channels

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Luculentevan

    Luculentevan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Just downloading and installing now. It's funny - I'm browsing perfectly fine now, in the morning. It only really gets bad in the evening.

    Yesterday I noticed that after the TV had been turned off, everything began working properly. I find this very curious; why would the TV affect it? It's connected to the Hub via ethernet, and the Hub is on the TV stand. I'll run Xirrus with the TV on and off.

    I'll report back soon!

    ----
    Edit: Here's a screen of no TV, and no dropping.

    Edit again: Hmm... wireless is fine. Maybe it's just an evening affair. It's hard to diagnose something that is so unreliable! As soon as I start experiencing issues, I'll take some Xirrus screens for you.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Channel 11 is not a good choice - theres another homehub on channel 11
    Bit i can see all the networks - can you click on the "network" link so we can see all the networks and the channels used

    channels 1 , 6 or 11 are best as they do not overlap - so providing no strong signal is on 1 or 6 change to channel 1 or 6
     
  5. Luculentevan

    Luculentevan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Here are the channels. I used Network Stumbler also, to double check :p

    So far, had no drops. It's annoying when you want it but don't get them. I suspect the issue will return tonight.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try channel 6
     
  7. Luculentevan

    Luculentevan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Okay changed that.

    I see in the settings that it's WPA [and WPA2. Could it perhaps be changing between the both? I think everything is WPA2 compatatble.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    No , unless theres a fault of some kind,
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are the BTOpenzone and BTFON strong signals yours? If so, how many people are taking advantage of your guest network(s) at night?
     
  10. Luculentevan

    Luculentevan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Yes, unfortunately; I'm not sure if they can be turned off with the HH3. I wouldn't think anyone would be using them.

    Here's Xirrus. It comes in clusters. As you can see, it's pretty much unusable for comfortable browsing, gaming, or streaming. However, see that last screen - the wireless has gone down, yet FON and OpenZone are still listed. Interesting. I shall see if I can disable them. Need to find my goddamned BT user credentials. Too many logins!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    On the disappeared image , I can still see BTHUB3-8MN2 on all three images - and has changed signal strength - looks like its dropped below -70 which is where the xirrus manual states

    you also have another strong signal appear on channel 6 - sky , it may be interference - but the drop is over a longish period of time

    can you post an image of all network listed as in post #5 - it may be worth playing with the channels and seeing if you can achieve on that is not impacted

    this may be a bit of a pain - but can you see if any other signal appears as your signal drops
    unless something like a microwave , cordless phone, baby monitor is interfering
    or
    the unit is faulty
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    That signal history graph is very troubling. Mine typically is a straight line--varies only by one or two dBm. Unless you are moving around quite a bit or tossing the PC into the air or something that is more evidence for what etaf said--interference or defect.

    Or maybe an electrical issue; if your router (HH3) is getting an uneven electrical supply its radio could be impacted that way. If you are using a power strip or surge protector or extension try w/o or with a different one. Or for a test try using a different circuit, even if that means running an extension cord from another room.
     
  13. Luculentevan

    Luculentevan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    That's a good point! Considering it seems to be affected in the evenings when the TV is on... I think it's plugged into the same extension as it. I'll move it around, and take some more screens when I start getting affected again (or hopefully not!).
     
  14. Luculentevan

    Luculentevan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Right, sorry for the long time. Been a busy Christmas!

    I've tried unplugging it from the TV and PVR (ethernet) but that made no difference.
    I moved the plug to a different socket - nope.
    We phoned BT and a man remotely acessed my PC and fiddled with local settings and changed the channel (wow -.-)
    Moving the hub into the room next to the TV stops the drops - it must be inteferance from the TV/PVR
    I'm going to try to narrow it down and find out which it is, presuming it actually is either!

    Thanks for the help!
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you reviewed the xirrus graph
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031668

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice