1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Btrieve for Novell 5.1

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by kafj, Jan 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kafj

    kafj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I'm trying to run a dos based program and have to upgrade to Netware 5.1 from Netware 3.12 because of other applications were upgraded. I want to know if I can run Netware 5.1 with the same version of Btrieve as 3.12. The alternative is to buy Pervasive Sql 2000 and it's cost prohibitive right now. Does anyone have any suggestions?!?! I would sure appreciate some help on this one....


    :confused:
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,679
    Hiya and welcome

    Which version of Btrieve are you using?

    having a look in Novell support, there are plenty of links for Btrieve and Netware 5.1, though some of them are for the troubleshooting side.

    Ah, have a read of this:

    http://developer.novell.com/research/appnotes/1999/february/05/02.htm

    So, from that, it looks like it will work with Netware 5.1.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. kafj

    kafj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    The version of Btrieve is version 6.10b. I was told that we needed the newer Btrieve Pervasive SQL 2000 in order for my setup to work on Netware 5.1. I was also told that one other server at another location worked with the default version that came with Netware 5.1. Please let me know what you would recommend.

    Thanks,
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    34,679
    I'm not so sure on which version to use, as I don't use any Novell software.

    However, you may want to try their forums:

    http://support.novell.com/forums/

    They may be able to offer more advice, unless anyone else here can help :)

    eddie
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113088

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice