Btrieve for Novell 5.1

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kafj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2003
Messages
2
I'm trying to run a dos based program and have to upgrade to Netware 5.1 from Netware 3.12 because of other applications were upgraded. I want to know if I can run Netware 5.1 with the same version of Btrieve as 3.12. The alternative is to buy Pervasive Sql 2000 and it's cost prohibitive right now. Does anyone have any suggestions?!?! I would sure appreciate some help on this one....


:confused:
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,259
Hiya and welcome

Which version of Btrieve are you using?

having a look in Novell support, there are plenty of links for Btrieve and Netware 5.1, though some of them are for the troubleshooting side.

Ah, have a read of this:

Btrieve Components
The Btrieve components running on NetWare are the same whether you are running NetWare 4.10, NetWare 4.11, or NetWare 5.0. Each of these versions of NetWare ships with Btrieve 6.10c
http://developer.novell.com/research/appnotes/1999/february/05/02.htm

So, from that, it looks like it will work with Netware 5.1.

Regards

eddie
 

kafj

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2003
Messages
2
The version of Btrieve is version 6.10b. I was told that we needed the newer Btrieve Pervasive SQL 2000 in order for my setup to work on Netware 5.1. I was also told that one other server at another location worked with the default version that came with Netware 5.1. Please let me know what you would recommend.

Thanks,
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,259
I'm not so sure on which version to use, as I don't use any Novell software.

However, you may want to try their forums:

http://support.novell.com/forums/

They may be able to offer more advice, unless anyone else here can help :)

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top