1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Bug with editing?

Discussion in 'Site Help, Feedback, & Announcements' started by DocStrange, Jan 8, 2011.

Advertisement
  1. DocStrange

    DocStrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    I noticed on this forum, and only this forum, that when I edit a post the page kinda "jumps" and produces a solid gray rectangle thing that's longer vertically than horizontal before giving me the quick edit prompt and this all happens quickly enough that I can't take a screen cap of it. I only use TSG on this one computer so I don't know if its a "just me" thing and I am unsure if its just the forum software reacting to Firefox or Windows XP or both or something. Its seems minor, but worth my making a note of it. Anyone else?
     
  2. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,165
    Does it happen with IE as well?

    I think it may be just a lag with your browser opening the message box, which is gray.

    Which version of Firefox are you using?

    Does this occur every single time you try to edit?

    Does it also occur when you click the Reply button or just with the Edit one?
     
  3. pyritechips

    pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26,907
    First Name:
    Jim
    XP SP3 & Firefox v3.6.13 here and no anomalies. How big is this grey rectangle? Is it small or the full screen?
     
  4. DocStrange

    DocStrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Yeah, I think it might just be a lag with my browser or something. I've noticed this for months but didn't decide to report until now. I'm using XP SP3 and Firefox 3.6.13 too. It just happens with the edit option, but it doesn't seem to be as pronounced this morning. Interesting.
     
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,165
    I see you have another thread about some odd behaviour in Notepad and I've posted there with some instructions for you. It's possible you have some malware causing these symptoms so let's rule that out and if not then we'll explore other options. :)
     
  6. DocStrange

    DocStrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Actually, I saw this bug the worst on a workstation at the local library, an entirely different computer than that problem. I suspect they're not connected.
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,165
    So you're saying you're not having this problem with your home computer but only at the library?
     
  8. DocStrange

    DocStrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Well its more noticable on that library computer, but I see it just a teeny bit on my own computer, which is why I brought it up.
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,165
    Does it happen with Internet Explorer as well?
     
  10. DocStrange

    DocStrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    I didn't check on that Library computer (they use FF and Opera, I couldn't even find the option to use IE, because they limit the start menu option) and its barely there on IE on mine, just like Firefox.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,165
    By barely there in IE on your machine you mean that it's very quick and you barely see it?

    Are you sure you can't capture a screen shot? You just have to press the Print Screen button at the same instant.
     
  12. DocStrange

    DocStrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    yes. As in couldn't capture it in a Print Screen screenshot on either FF or IE in mine. If its happening that quickly on my machine that I can't catch it, it shouldn't be a problem for me, but it was weird for the public computer.
     
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,165
    Well short of doing a complete diagnostic of your computer and what you have running, I don't really know what else to suggest here.

    Out of curiosity, which computer in your specs are we talking about here?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973335

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice