1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Build or Buy?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wildfan1980, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wildfan1980

wildfan1980 Thread Starter

Hey to all who want to help,

I am currently running a Dell Dimension 8300, 3.1Ghz, 80Gig HD, 3Gig RAM, ATI Radeon X1950PRO, all running on WinXP. It's about 5 years old and has been fine running all games up until now. I ran Mass Effect and Bioshock well enough to finish them, but I am noticing a big need to upgrade.

I have been looking at Dell and Alienware, but the more research I do the more I want to build my own PC. It saves money and I can pick parts I want not ones the company forces you to choose.

My only problem is, I've never built a PC before. Is it worth the risk dealing with my budget of around $2500 or should I just go with an Alienware and run with the pre-chosen NVIDIA 790i mobo?

Is there a site that walks you through a computer build like this? Or should I find someone who can help in person? Any help is welcome and appreciated.

Thank You,
    John

2. Jones

Jones

Building your own PC is not hard, provided you are willing to take the time to do it properly.

IE: Read the manual, follow the instructions, and be careful!

Basically, you'll pay 1.5x to 3x as much on a prebuilt PC than you would if you build it yourself.

It sounds like you would be willing to go the build-your-own PC route, which, in my opinion, is far better for a number of reasons:

1 - you have control over EVERY part - no cheaping out on the important stuff
    2 - you know the machine, inside and out, because YOU built it
    3 - you saved a ton of money, and can get better quality parts as a result