Build PC?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Learner1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2004
Messages
230
Any suggestions for motherboard type,power supply,ect.. Would like to purchase Win.XP(Home or Office ?) and load it myself.Would like to play light to moderate games.Type of graphics card? Any suggestions appreciated.
 
Joined
May 29, 2004
Messages
87
Hi Learner. Starting my own build at moment. I shopped about and came up with these specs

Asus A8V Rev.2 Deluxe (Socket 939) (MB-063-AS)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/ASUS_Socket_939.html

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester 90nm (Socket 939) Retail (CP-097-AM)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/AMD_64_Bit.html

OcUK GeForce 6600 GT 128MB DDR3 TV-Out/DVI (AGP) -Retail (GX-005-C3)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/copy_of_6600_GT.html

This 400w psu should be enough to power this setup.
Akasa Ultra Quiet 400W Paxpower Active PFC ATX2.0 PSU (CA-012-AK)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Akasa_PSU.html

Full spec is at
http://www.buildyourown.org.uk/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5036

Really depends on ammount your willing to spend. Above setup should be enough for most recent games.
 

Learner1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2004
Messages
230
Thank you, joeheathuk.Can i add CD rom/writer.Barely know what i am doing.LOL.Thanks again.Oh,never mind,I just needed to read a little more in the pages,lol.Thank you again.
 

Learner1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2004
Messages
230
I'm just wondering,...can some of these componets be added to say for instance,a Dell PC?Or are they not interchangable?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
66
I have built my own pc, as have many people in this forum, I'm sure. My advise to you is wait until you know what you are doing . I am all for trying new things, but the reason I say this is I don't want you to waste money on incompatible parts, uncessary items, or whatnot.

If you do still want to build it: read up on every component first. Know SATA vs. IDE hard drives, AMD vs Intel, get a compatible motherboard and case.

For your case: i suggest the Antec Superlanboy. It goes for about 80 bucks, but it is QUIET and totally worth it. It is very upgradable too. As for the Mobo, I use an MSI K8N Neo Platinum for my AMD 3000+ 64 bit processor.

Most parts, disk dirves, hard drives, ram (maybe) are compatible with dell.

Good luck and have fun!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
i suggest the Antec Superlanboy. It goes for about 80 bucks.
Unless you got one for $30AR two weeks ago from bestbuy.

I suggest the $20 chieftec case over at tiger direct..
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=485238&CatId=1528

While your there, you might look into this.
Asus A8V + Athlon 64 3400+ Barebones $300
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...urceid=00357421086767606138&siteid=0035742108
The case sucks, so does the PS, but it's a cheap price for a mobo/cpu combo.. Sell the extra case over on ebay.

If you want a little speed for super cheap.. Try this combo, with the afore mentioned Cheiftec case.. Pick up a Antec or coolmax power supply over at newegg to go with it.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...urceid=00357421086767606138&siteid=0035742108

Here's a Maxtor 120GB 8MB Cache Drive for $60
http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?&ref=cj&pfp=cj&product_code=298702

Or get one of these monsters:
Maxtor Ultra16 PATA 7200 250GB Hard Drive $115
http://www.staples.com/Catalog/Browse/SKU.asp?BCFlag=False&PageType=1&SKU=583702

And a geforce 6600gt 128mb PCIe for $158
http://www.techdepot.com/product.asp?productid=2226494
 

Learner1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2004
Messages
230
O.K. guys,my tiny brain is somewhat overloading.Been looking at a few Aopen motherboards.Bought a used custom built,slapped together by'Cardinal Computer'here in town.It was prettynice and was getting overloaded with files in the registry,even though the man uninstalled and removed A LOT of programs from the program files folder.I haven't had much luck with Maxtor hard drives,or maybe is it possible the bios in the motherboard isn't up to date with the HD?Is that possible?I guess all I really want is a good motherboard with up to date bios and if I want add fancy gaming devices later,it won't be a problem.I work in a fabrication shop and would like to build my tower from stainless sheet metal.Thats another story and may not even do it.Is this advisible anyway considering the heat build up in the steel casing? Thanks for all the input guys.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
66
gotrootdude said:
Unless you got one for $30AR two weeks ago from bestbuy
oops. Haha, well, I built mine this summer and the prevailing price at the time was some 80 bucks. It was worth every cent two. But heck, at 30 bucks a pop, I might as well buy two or three. Are they still on sale?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
8,812
Not anymore.. Don't know if those Chieftec cases are still onsale either, could have just been until the end of the month... Have to keep an eye out for the deals when available..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top