1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Building a gaming computer $550 budget. Total Noob.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by apekzhrk, Nov 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. apekzhrk

apekzhrk Thread Starter

Hey guys I am a complete noob when it comes to computers and I am trying to build a computer for gaming. Currently I have a pre-assembled desktop computer from best buy (VAIO) from about 5 years ago.
    specs:
    CPU: Pentium 4 3ghz
    RAM: 1gb of ram
    GPU: Radeon x800
    Vaio Case
    crap power suply

As you can see, I have a crap computer. With this, I can barely run games like L4D2 or TF2 at very low settings. To play bioshock, I have to set everything low which makes the game just pitch black and unplayable. I was wondering if it is possible to build a computer (motherboard, case, psu, cpu, gpu) that is decent for gaming and under 550$. I am not looking for a hardcore gaming computer... just enough to run the games I have such as CSS, L4D2, TF2, Bioshock, Atlantica Online, at medium to high settings.

I tried to research about computers on my own but it just seems like there are too many things to know about when building a computer. That is the reason why I joined this forum for suggestions.

I was wondering if you guys can help me build a decent gaming computer by pointing out which things to buy for optimal performance with a 550$ budget limit. (lower the better of course :) )

I know this is asking a lot and I'm sure if I researched hard enough I would be able to do so myself... but I would really appreciate it if you guys help me out here.

Thank you very much!

2. Ecf1

Ecf1

3. apekzhrk

apekzhrk Thread Starter

wow thank you for the fast response! I already have an XP for OS so I don't have to buy that.