1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

building a new computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by garebo, Nov 12, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. garebo

    garebo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    This is not my first build but it is the first time I put one together and nothing happens when it is turned on!
    I have a blaster board that takes a slot 1 or adaptor. So I went with the adaptor (MSI Model # MS-6905). I installed the adaptor, cpu (socket 370 intel p3-800\hs\fan).
    I get nothing when I turn the computer on.
    There are some jumpers that can be set and I read the instructions and changed 2 of them but still no go so I put them back to where they were.

    Any help would be appreciated!

    thanks
     
  2. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Make sure you have the voltage set for the cpu correctly (especially if you are using an adapter) That might be your problem.
     
  3. garebo

    garebo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    I', guessing that is what the prob is but I dont seem to be able to set it right. There are directions on the box but they are a bit confusing.
    The cpu runs at 100 but there is an "auto" feature that is set at auto.
    Also, there are settings for single\dual mobo, celeron\coppermine 256k. Mine is likely the coppermine 256k. It is not a celeron and it is the p3 800 FCPGA.
    So will keep trying I guess.
    I read somewhere that you have to reset the bios via the jumpers and clear it each time you change the jumpers on the adaptor.
    still trying!!!!!!!!!!!

    thanks

    Gary
     
  4. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    If your chip a 800E should be

    100 front side bus
    8 multiplier
    1.65 volts vcore

    yes it is coppermine

    Wish I could help more
     
  5. garebo

    garebo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    how do you know it is an "E"? Is that short for coppermine?
    I only know it is a p 3 800. That is all I know for sure.
    Here is the product code:
    BX80526F800256ESL463

    appreciate any help I can get! thanks!
     
  6. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Look in your mobo manual (yes, the dusty old thing) and check what jumper you need set to give the correct voltage, and if it still doesn't work, try jumpering the "clear" jumper for the bios. I think it should be JP1, but I am not sure... look in you manual for it. Sorry don't know what else to say. I haven't used those adaptors before as they are much more work if they don't go right the first time. I'm sure someone at TSG has used them. I just remember that I tried using an adaptor for my old Compaq, and had so much trouble that I just took it back and settled for the old 133Mhz.
     
  7. garebo

    garebo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    I have been looking through my mobo manual. I thought I set this adaptor correctly, it just wont work!

    thanks
     
  8. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Don't get frustarted...:rolleyes: Those adaptors are hard to use. The one and only time I have tried to use them I had to give up.:(

    Does your board support the voltage you need?
     
  9. PC_DISK1

    PC_DISK1

    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    Messages:
    311
    Are you getting a beeping sound? (Make sure your case speaker is attached to the MB) I would also look at the memory. It could be bad. Sometimes on motherboards there is a jumper that must be moved before power up. See if yous has that.

    I once had this MB that had both socket 370 and slot 1. I had a 700MHz P3. The CPU would work in the 370 to slot1 adapter but not alone in the socket 370. Computers are strange sometimes.
     
  10. kron

    kron Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    thanks, i will check those things out.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58379

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice