1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Building a simple access database

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by caraewilton, Nov 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. caraewilton

caraewilton Thread Starter

Hi

Hoping someone can give me advise on the best table structure for a simple database I am building.

Here is the scenario:

I am a teacher. One of my most used resources is old exams for the subjects I teach. For a single subject I have old papers going back to 2002. This represents about 40 exam papers, currently all in pdf. I want to create a searchable database of the questions.

For each question I have the following possible fields:

Session
    Exam Year
    Component
    Topic
    Question Number
    Question
    Memorandum
    Notes

My logic tells me I should have have a separate table for session, exam year and component as 1 table because one record will link to multiple questions. Then to link them using a code like 101111, first two digits being the year, the second two the session and the last two the component.

question number, Question, memorandum and notes make up a second table with an additional field for code which links to table 1.

A third table for topics as again one topic will be associated with multiple questions, but I do not know how to link this to table two :(

Would this be the best way to set things up, or is there a better way?

Another question, how much text can be placed in a single field entry. The memorandums for each question can be a lot, and I seem to recall access has a limit of 255 characters ... sure to exceed that...

Lastly, some of the questions relate to a case study. Is there a way to link the question to a pdf of the case study?