1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Building A Website

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by Jaymie1989, Apr 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jaymie1989

    Jaymie1989 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    406
    Hi,

    I want to build a new website, but i want to so on the pages that i do i include something like <-- Include overall_header.html --> and the same with the footer and any other pages.

    Pretty much like a phpBB forum is built.

    What would i have to do to use something like that?
     
  2. deepdiver01

    deepdiver01

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Hi Jayme1989

    phpBB is built around the server side language of php, not straight html.

    To be able to do what you are asking would need a server side language such as php, .asp, etc.

    So it seems you have another learning experience coming up if you want to do this.

    For something simple like including files it is fairly straight forward.

    There are plenty of online tutorials out there. Let uncle google show you.
     
  3. TechGuy

    TechGuy Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    14,293
    First Name:
    Mike
  4. Jaymie1989

    Jaymie1989 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    406
    Thanks guys, Well with the
    What would I search for on Google?
     
  5. deepdiver01

    deepdiver01

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    I would start by googling php tutorials. There are heaps of good tutorials out there.

    Have a look at www.w3schools.com

    From memory, they have a php tutorial section which starts off from the very basics.
     
  6. Jaymie1989

    Jaymie1989 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    406
    So i have to learn php to do this?
     
  7. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,148
    Nope, TechGuy's link to server-side includes (SSI) won't involve PHP and should allow you accomplish what you want. Using PHP is just another way to accomplish what you want. :)

    Peace...
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/700952

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice