1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Building My first Computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ecto, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
  2. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Looks fine though personally I would buy Kingston, Corsair or Crucial ram...ocz seems to never work with newest systems, have you matched that ram to motherboard ?
    Also why do 54 mbps for network adapter when 108 and even 125 are so available?
     
  3. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,479
  4. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    I can't figure out what RAM will for sure work. I've checked the Asus website, but I couldn't find it, not even at the QVL.

    I need 2G (1g*2) But I will take whatever you recommend.
     
  5. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Couple of quick things: You have an ..retail.. hard drive--you'll get SATA cables with your motherboard, so an OEM will do you fine, if they're less expensive. If they aren't, then get the retail to have a couple of extra cables laying around. And definitely take replay's advice and get teh 16MB cache. It helps speed.

    The Corsair XMS2 RAM seems to have the best compatability lately. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145590
    If you aren't planning on overclocking, DDR2 667 Corsair Value Select works just fine for gamers.

    Your optical drive is an OEM--if you get a retail version, you should get a basic version of Nero with it...so if you need burning software, take a look at that.

    Great power supply, excellent CPU, board, nice case.

    I think you're in good shape. Good gaming setup.
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Any of these Corsair will work:
    CM2X1024-5400C4 DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 1GB 4-4-4-12-2T
    CM2X1024-6400 DDR2-800 (XM2S-6400) 1GB 5-5-5-15-2T
    CM2X1024-6400PRO DDR2-800 (XM2S-6400) 1GB 5-5-5-15-2T
    CM2X512-5400C4 DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 512MB 4-4-4-12-2T
    CM2X512-5400C4PRO DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 512MB 4-4-4-12-2T
    CM2X512A-6400 DDR2-800 (XM2S-6400) 512MB 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2X1024-5400C4 DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 1GB Kit (2 x 512MB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X1024-5400C4PRO DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 1GB Kit (2 x 512MB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X1024-6400C4 DDR2-800 C4 1GB Kit (2 x 512MB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X1024-8500 DDR2-1066 (XM2S-8500) 1GB Kit (2 x 512MB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2X1024A-6400 DDR2-800 (XM2S-6400) 1GB Kit (2 x 512MB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2X2048-10000C5DF DDR2-1250 (XMS2-10000) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-5-18-2T
    TWIN2X2048-5400C4 DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X2048-5400C4PRO DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X2048-5400C4PT DDR2-675 (XM2S-5400C4) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X2048-6400 DDR2-800 (XM2S-6400) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2X2048-6400C4 DDR2-800 C4 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X2048-6400C4D DDR2-800 C4 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X2048-6400C4PRO DDR2-800 C4 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X2048-6400PRO DDR2-800 (XM2S-6400) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2X2048-8500C5 DDR2-1066 (XM2S-8500) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2X2048-8500C5D DDR2-1066 (XM2S-8500) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2X2048-8888C4DF DDR2-1111 (XMS2-8888) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    TWIN2X2048-9136C5D DDR2-1142 (XMS2-9136) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    TWIN2XP2048-6400C4 TWIN2XP2048-6400C4 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    VS1GB533D2 DDR2-533 (PC2-4200) 1GB 4-4-4-12-2T
    VS1GB667D2 DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) 1GB 5-5-5-15-2T
    VS1GBKIT533D2 DDR2-533 (PC2-4200) 1GB Kit (2 x 512MB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    VS1GBKIT667D2 DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) 1GB Kit (2 x 512MB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    VS256MB533D2 DDR2-533 (PC2-4200) 256MB 4-4-4-12-2T
    VS2GBKIT533D2 DDR2-533 (PC2-4200) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 4-4-4-12-2T
    VS2GBKIT667D2 DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-5-15-2T
    VS512MB667D2 DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) 512MB 5-5-5-15-2T
    VS512MBKIT533D2 DDR2-533 (PC2-4200) 512MB Kit (2 x 256MB) 4-4-4-12-2
     
  7. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820146565

    Thats one on crucial that it says is compatible. I'll go with that, since the manufactuar said for sure it will wok

    I'm fine with my harddrive, a friend in real life recommended getting it....or is the other one really better and just as reliable.

    Do I actually need the burning hardware? What would mean I wouldn't?
     
  8. maxibhoy

    maxibhoy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    938
    One thing i'm going to add ecto. The psu you've chosen is certainly a good one but it has a bottom intake fan instead of a front one or just an exhaust fan and the case you're going with has the mounts for the psu down the bottom so you will need to turn it round to still ahve that fan working properly. This is possible with this case as it has the mounting holes for either way install but sometimes this can cause other problems. I would recommend going with a psu with a front and back fan for this case. Just a small point you probably should consider. Max.
     
  9. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    What would mean you wouldn't need it is if you already have it. Nero is great program, but there are a bunch of free and non-free burning programs out there. XP has a burning utility that isn't the worst thing in the world. But Nero allows you to do bootable CD's, CD images, DVD's, etc. It's well worth the extra few bucks you spend on the retail version.

    The other hard drive would be the same thing, except that it keeps 16MB in cache for quick retrieval.
     
  10. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    I was refered to this PSU by a friend, because he says its the best hes ever used, and hes built 20+ computers.

    I see the problem with the fan, but if I mount it upside down, I can't see what the problem would be. My case has a ton of cooling fans though, so I hope that won't be a problem.

    Great, so I've got the ram done!

    I might look into getting a retail CD drive. Is there a retail version of the one I have picked? I don't want to spend any more money on the system, as it is already at the limit of my budget. If there is the same version retail,or a similar one just as good retail, for the same price, please point it out.

    Thanks guys, I'm so close!!!
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,188
    Just wondering do you plan to overclock this system?
     
  12. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Possibly. I have no idea how to at the moment, but in months to come, if I learn how to do it, I might eventually want to.

    The case will support my PSU upside down, so I'll stay with it, but thanks for the tip, that could have been a huge problem.

    BTW, I read about the case, and will I be able to hook my case fans to my Mobo? Or the LED lights? How will that work.

    Any tips on the retail cd drive? Thanks guys. Tomarrow, or whenever I get all the possible problems resolved, I'll buy this bad boy.
     
  13. maxibhoy

    maxibhoy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    938
    Well i don't believe the fan will be very effective that way is all. Also there is no exhaust fan on that psu so i just think that whole configoration will cause the psu to run a bit hot. That being said though i own this case myself and for good airflow (providing you have some good cable management) this case is second to none. The top 200mm exhaust fan is great. Personally i changed all fans except the top to high powered ones but even keeping the stock ones it keeps great temps. But cable management isn't the easiest. A few mods were needed in my own case.
    This is my 900:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. maxibhoy

    maxibhoy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    938
    The case fans have four pin (molex) plugs that you can hook up directly to your psu, and a three speed selector (which is very small) the leds in the fans are powered through the same molex so no need to worry about this. Personally i don't like the front leds and put in fans with none. But i've noticed most people like them. Anyway nice system, Good luck!!
    Max.
     
  15. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,188
    If you do not plan on overclocking, I would really consider a real intel board. Nothing beats the stability of an intel cpu running on a real intel board. If you do plan to OC, then I would consider a board by asus, abit, epox, or dfi running an intel chipset.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542485

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice