1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Building PC <500

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Roshen, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Roshen

    Roshen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Hi
    I'm building my first pc, primarily for gaming, which is also being done on a budget <500.
    I've put together a few items after alot of web surfing and am wondering if they're compatible together. Not to mention how they would handle TitanQuest. Any useful comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

    939Dual-SATA2 66.99
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 2000MHz 76.00
    Radeon 9250 256MB 54.99
    Update Kingston 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 83.99
    Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 42.99
    LITE-ON Black ATAPI/E-IDE DVD-ROM 17.99
    XION XION II XON-103 Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450W 64.99 - 15 rebate

    407.94 - 15 rebate

    I'm able to get Windows and a monitor from a friend, is there anything i'm overlooking?
     
  2. whitemiguel1981

    whitemiguel1981

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    possibly a sound card but you can always get that later!
     
  3. EasY_TargeT

    EasY_TargeT

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    420
  4. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Getting Windows from a friend? Unless he is unistalling this copy and giving you the whole thing, disc, COA, Keycode and all this is software piracy. You are better off increasing your target price by the cost of a legitimate retail copy of Windows. If he is giving you the whole nine yards and uninstalling this copy of windows from what ever it might be presently installed on, you can disregard this. But be warned this forum will not extend help on a pirated copy of any software.
     
  5. EasY_TargeT

    EasY_TargeT

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    420
    If his friend owns a legal copy of professional he can use it as he sees fit.
     
  6. rolandk10

    rolandk10

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Also note that Titan quest has had many complaints about choppy video in different parts of the game. It is very hungry for resources. I play it on a moderate system and get good results except for in the caves or when many enimies ore around. I've read posts by users claiming to have the latest SLI based machines and they expirence the same thing. While that machine you are building may fit into the system req's, the game itself is in need of a patch or two to optimize it's graphics somewhat.
     
  7. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Not on more than one machine he can't.
     
  8. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    No he can't--when you install windows there is a licensing agreement (you have to actually hit F8 to get by it and which you agree to the terms) which dictates the terms of use. I can tell you those terms allow the software to be installed on only one machine.
    So if his friend is going to uninstall XP from the machine its on now or has a CD laying around that he has not used on any other computer, then he is free to give it to the thread starter.
     
  9. EasY_TargeT

    EasY_TargeT

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    420
    One of my buddies owns a small business and he was told he was allowed to install windows xp professional on more than one computer, he was told this a Microsoft representative. This is not how he did it but you can get windows xp licenses for 2-3 computers.
     
  10. Roshen

    Roshen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    thanks for all the input, based from this thread and a few others I'm thinking of stepping it up just a little bit so that the rig is more versatile and upgradable later. going from 929 to am2

    XION XION II XON-103 Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450W Power Supply - Retail

    Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

    ASUS M2V Socket AM2 VIA K8T890 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

    BIOSTAR V7602GS21 Geforce 7600GS 256MB GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

    LITE-ON Black ATAPI/E-IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model SHD-16P1S - Retail

    Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model KVR400/1GR - Retail

    AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Orleans 2000MHz HT Socket AM2 Processor Model ADA3500CNBOX - Retail

    new total is right above 500 after rebates

    as for the windows delimna, my friend has an unused copy of 2000ME, but if I dont see him anytime soon I'm going to talk to the local pc shop about having them install it and purchasing the liscense thru them
     
  11. EasY_TargeT

    EasY_TargeT

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    420
    you could always use linux, although its not the best for a gamer, even though they just updated wine.
     
  12. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    For Godsakes don't put WindowsME in a new rig (or any rig for that matter). It was the worse OS MS ever made and far inferior to XP. Do yourself a favor--you can get XP-Home for about $80 at NewEgg--maybe cheaper somewhere else (not a whole lot cheaper--make sure its from a reputable retailer). I always recommend Pro but Home is fine, especially if you aren't going to network any computers.
     
  13. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022

    Attached Files:

    • rig.jpg
      rig.jpg
      File size:
      88.3 KB
      Views:
      31
  14. Mulderator

    Mulderator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    He was told wrong (if he purchased a single user version). In fact, its impossible to validate a second license without hacking the software.
     
  15. EasY_TargeT

    EasY_TargeT

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    420
    Not true, he validated without breaking the program. I was surprised but he did it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487358

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice