1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

building web pages

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by drafter, Jan 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. drafter

drafter Thread Starter

A friend of mine has asked me to build a web page for him where he could put his family photos for his distant relative to see. He has no experience in web page building and has no interest in learning. I have very little experience myself but want to learn.
    What is the best, easiest (hopefully free) software to use.
    Once I have built the site I have to make it as easy as possible for my friend to upload his pictures to this site. Will he need special software as well or can he do this from explorer in win2000 (his o/s).

thanx

2. vpn

vpn

the best thing you can use to create one, is notepad... however, if you need, or prefer something with a gui, i would suggest 1st page, coffee cup, or dreamweaver...

creating the page is rather simple, if you need help i would visit http://www.htmlhelpcentral.com or http://www.htmlgoodies.com/ both are two of the best html help sites on the net...

as far as your friend uploading images, since he doesnt have any desire to learn html, the simplest thing would be to setup an image gallery script, where he can simply upload the images and go to a url, and the script takes care of the thumbnails, etc... if you go this route, you will most likely need a host that has gd/image magic installed, along with support for perl/php... as far as uploading, the simplest thing to do would be able to find him a simple easy to use freeware ftp client...

3. bassetman

bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten