1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Built in wireless- no longer working?!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kitkat67, Mar 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kitkat67

kitkat67 Thread Starter

Hi to all,
    this is my first time to the forum and let me just start by saying- "way too much information"!!! My goodness, I have spent the last 3 hours here just reading. Boy, I almost forgot what my trouble was.
    Anyhoo, here goes- My problem is with my sony vaio laptop, running Vista.It has built in wireless or it did. Somehow, the NIC card is not operating. I connect through a linksys VOIP router that is connected to my desktop. I went through the drill of resetting my router back to factory settings; got my phone back up and running and have been trying to connect wireless with my laptop.
    These connections have worked for the past 3 months. Here is what is strange for me- my laptop is not even picking up any other networks in the area, which it usually does. I live in a condo complex and there are as many as 5 networks that normally show up.

I just so happen to have a linksys usb compact adapter for wireless connection and that is the only way I can connect.

Any help here I would appreciate. What am I doig wrong? or has anybody had this happen before?

Thanks so much!

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

First off, did you check to see if you have simply switched the wireless capability off? There is either a switch on the side of the computer, or a function sequence that will turn the wireless on and off.

If that proves not to be the issue, let's do the following.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.