1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

buisiness router blocking incomming connections

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by chaos1986, Apr 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chaos1986

    chaos1986 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    i bought this buisiness router (mainly because it is more stable and has more options) from 3Com and i cant "log in" to it to remove this blasted built in firewall. and i can access all websites but cant listen 2 internet radio or use SecondLife, also 2 people here cannot use there work applications with it.

    it did come with this silly install disk but the application is dated and doesnt work on Vista

    when i try and enter the gateway address into the address bar on firefox the connection times out, i have set the timeout to 30 hours, left it on overnight "loading..." but nothing

    i think there is something wrong with it, but i bought it at a second hand shop and cant return it, i've tried resetting it and everything, i just cant get past this bloody firewall.

    anyone have any ideas short of throwing it outa the window?

    edit:

    The router is a none-wireless 3com router, there are 2 office PC's connected directly, and 3 wireless PC's/laptops connected to it. no one can get past the firewall, not even the hard-wired PC's
     
  2. Pookie

    Pookie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    I would use a laptop w/ whatever o/s is compatible w/ that program and use that to configure your firewall.
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    60,880
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Are you sure the router has a web based interface? It may only support a simple Telnet or similar user interface. The software CD may provide a more user friendly interface to the router configuration settings.

    I would think that most broadband routers would not know how to direct any incoming connections until they were specifically configured to route an incoming connection on a given port to a specified port on a computer at a given IP address on your LAN.
     
  4. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    From the 3 Com site:
    "The unit comes with a 14-day free trial of the SurfControl Web Filter, an optional content filtering service for routers that blocks access to pornographic, prejudicial, violent and undesired Internet web content or services".
    I don't know if this applies to your router, as you didn't give us a model number.
     
  5. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    If it's a non-wireless router, how can wireless PCs connect to it?

    How did you actually reset it? Most of the 3Com OfficeConnect routers can take up to 30 seconds to actually be reset. Plus, you must connect the WAN port to one of the LAN ports on some models.

    1. Remove power from the Router.
    2. Disconnect all your computers and the cable/DSL modem from the Router.
    3. Using a straight through Ethernet cable, connect the Ethernet Cable/DSL port on the rear of the Router to any one of the LAN ports.
    4. Re-apply power to the Router. The Alert LED will flash as the Router starts up, and after approximately 30 seconds will start to flash more slowly (typically 2 seconds on, 2 seconds off).
      Once the Alert LED has started to flash slowly, remove power from the Router.
    If it's not an Office Connect router, then it likely does not have a web interface. You must telnet to the device, or use the Console port with a terminal application such as Hyperterminal. The console port may be a 9 pin D connector, or could be an RJ-45 on newer versions, but should be marked. If it has a console port it won't have a web interface.

    So first step is to find the model number of the device.

    Jerry
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/707540

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice