1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Burning DVD

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by oaklands, Apr 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oaklands

    oaklands Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Ihave the Nero software for burning a DVD, but I was just wondering, without even using that, I have just copied and pasted jpg pictures to my DVD drive (where I've inserted a DVD -RW disc) and the files show up there without burning. Do I still need to burn?
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Yes. The copy/paste operation puts them in a temporary staging folder. They're not actually written to the disk until you initiate the burning process.
     
  3. oaklands

    oaklands Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks - I'm new at this, so thanks for your patience. So, when I'm done copying them to the temporary staging folder, then what do I do? I only have one DVD/CD drive. Thanks again.
     
  4. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Look around as you should see "burn these to cd" after clicking on the cd drive in My Computer. Native burning software though can only burn cd's in XP while in Vista and Windows 7, you can burn dvd's as well with the native software.
     
  5. oaklands

    oaklands Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    It burned and said it was successful, but the file under the DVD drive will not open - I tried to Open With a number of programs - no luck.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Rick_in_Fla

    Rick_in_Fla

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,005
    It would be real helpful if you told us what operating system you have, the make and model # of the burner and what program you used to burn with.
     
  7. oaklands

    oaklands Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Sorry, I'm using Windows XP Pro Service Pack 3 and used Nero to burn - the burner came with the computer (all it says on the burner is Multi Recorder R DL Ram 2). Thanks.
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I thought you said you weren't using Nero. What files did you burn and what are the exact steps you took to burn the data?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Burning
  1. 69Rixter
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    366
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917693

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice