1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Buy a full-disk Version of Windows 7 Pro Advice

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by OBE17, Feb 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OBE17

OBE17 Thread Starter

I'm an XP Pro devotee. It's getting increasingly difficult, however, to "buck-the-trend" of upgrading that is pushed by MicroSoft.
    I bought a new laptop that came with a factory-installed version of Windows 7. Research informed me to buy an upgrade to 7 Pro for the "remote-access" utility and the "virtual XP" provision. I can "live" with it.
    I run about 6 or 7 computers and I'd like to invest in a disk to put 7 Pro on a few of them. What's the best course of action? I see Windows 7 Pro, on Amazon.com for $119. Will it allow me to install it on multiples?
    I paid just-about that much for a disk of Office 2003 (the last version that wasn't equipped with a pass-code number) that I could use as often as I want. I prefer the drop-down versions of Excel to the Menu versions also.
    One drawback is that I also like Outlook Express, and OE runs like a three-legged-dog after you install Office 2003!
    Any help with these dilemmas would be appreciated.

2. gurutech

gurutech

If you will only be using the remote access to access other computers, then you can use Home Premium - as long as you aren't planning to remote INTO one of these machines (without a third party utility like LogMeIn or TeamViewer).

As far as installing on multiple computers, you will need to buy a disk for each computer you are installing it on.

3. OBE17

OBE17 Thread Starter