buying a digital camera

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

carlo_scute

good day,

I would like to get more information and your generous insight in purchasing a brand new digital camera(first time to have one)
How many megapixels do i need(is 3.2 MP enough?).And other things/features that I need to learn and understand before buying one.The camera would be for personal use(newbie in digital photography), I'm not a professional by the way.And I would like to browse the images on a pc,by way of usb port(any other ports?) I never used a digital camera,only the one that uses a physical roll of film)
Thanks!

Just some quick tips:

Look for optical zoom. Digital zoom doesn't really zoom the camera in at all.

The 3 megapixel range is good for people starting out. The pictures aren't too large and you can fit a good amount on a 256 MB card.

Most cameras come with the minimum amount of memory. When you purchase a camera, you should also purchase a spare memory card/stick.

Pricegrabber.com is a good place to look. Not only will you find the lowest price, but you can read user reviews.

If you could let us know a couple of things it would help.

How much do you have to spend?
Do you want manual controls in addition to automatic.?
How big do you want ot print--will everything be 4x6, 5x7---or do you want to go bigger.
What will you primarily be shooting---action, nature, portrait etc.

buck52

Banned
bonzobob999 said:
Well looking at that site hewee and its reviews, the world should buy a Canon. :p
Not my world... ;) No Canon for me...

If your going to buy a point and shoot type camera...there are many that will do the job...look for the features that you want...not necessaily the most megapixels.. I still use my Sony DSC S70 , 3 mega pixels, in certain situations..

buck

http://www.dpreview.com/