Buying a new graphics card

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

millert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
62
What do youthink about this card as performance wise i mean is it any good XFX GeForce 7900 GS Extreme Edition
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
millert said:
What do youthink about this card as performance wise i mean is it any good XFX GeForce 7900 GS Extreme Edition
Check those links:
http://www.nvidia.com/page/geforce_7900.html
http://www.nvidia.com/page/geforce_7950.html
www.gpureview.com

As far as I know there is no 7900GS Extreme Edition...Maybe you mean the 7900GTX? Or a
card from the 7950 series?

Consider that gaming performance depends on the overall system features and not only GPU. Also keep in mind that a powerfull GPU such as the 7900GTX won't do any performance difference in a slow system as they can get bottlenecked by CPU or RAM. For example you won't benefit much by pairing a 7900GTX with an old P4 slower than 3.0Ghz. You will take results similar to a 7800GS - 7600GT in that case.

Also consider that if you are building a new system or you have a pretty new machine (Core 2 Duo E6xxx - Athlon 64x2 AM2 4200+ or greater) you may get a card from the GF8800 series as well.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
The card you consider buying is a very good choice...
But
If you have a really new PC you can think of buying an 8800 card...

Tell me your CPU model and speed, be sure about RAM and if possible what is your motherboard and power supply unit. Right click on my computer to view CPU and RAM specs...The other stuff can be found at your machine's documentation that came with the manufacturer.
 

millert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
62
ok
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3400+ 984Mhz 960 Mb of RAM

not too sure where too find other stuff
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
millert said:
ok
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3400+ 984Mhz 960 Mb of RAM

not too sure where too find other stuff
The 7900GS will be enough for your system but:
In several cases because your CPU limits the card's capabilities you won't see any big difference in performance at resolutions 1280x1024 or 1024x768 with the 7900GS compared to an 7600GT. For greater resolutions your CPU may not be enough to provide acceptable framerates.

You could get the card and keep it in the future if you plan on upgrading your CPU and RAM later. But this is complicated as you could get an 8800 card which is better and first of all compatible with Vista's DX10. Keep in mind that in order to do that you must buy the PCI Express version of the card. If you have an older AGP motherboard you can't do it. And if you buy an AGP versions the card will be useless later if you upgrade CPU and motherboard as all new computers go for PCI Express. Also keep in mind that buying such a powerfull card may require the upgrade of your Power Supply Unit too.

In my opinion: First check if you have AGP. In that case if you plan to upgrade later your CPU, buy a cheap 7600GT now. If you don't plan on getting your CPU upgrated go for the 7900GS. If you have PCI Express you may search for an 8800 card instead.

You have now an integrated graphics card as I suspect. That's because your RAM is 960MB. Computers don't have that amount of RAM natively. I think that you have 1GB (1024MB) of RAM but the integrated graphics takes the other RAM for its needs. If you have integrated graphics then you should really upgrade if you want to run games.

The PSU make/model and wattage can be found on it's label stuck on it. You will be able to see it if you open your computer's case. It can also be found if you have documentation of the parts of your PC.
 

millert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
62
so wat ur saying is i should go ahead with this card if i do not plan on upgraded anything like the CPU or anything i will find the PSu but

i have another question my moniter will sometimes turn off for no reason my friend says it might be graphic card

also the buttons on the side of moniter like menu or auto select when pushed say OSD lockout wats up with that
 
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
652
an amd athlon 64 3400+ going at 984Mhz
i had an amd athlon 64 2800+ at 1.99Ghz
i think 984 mhz is a bit slow
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
Well I thought he just missed an "1" and that he meant 1984Mhz as socket 754 version of the A64 3400+ runs at 2.0ghz...As for the "missing" 16Mhz that's propably an incorrect windows description, it happens as you know.

If however you really have it clocked at 984Mhz follow the above advice.:)

You could get a 7900GS I think for this machine. But check your power supply as I doubt that it will be enough judging from your system. And as I suspect that your Athlon is socket 754 you propably have AGP...Few mobos used PCI Express back then.

Consider this as a good alternative as at the shop you searched I cannot any 7900GS for AGP: ATI Radeon X1950Pro.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2855869&CatId=935
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=3123049&sku=H231-7214
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top