1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Buying Ram For Laptop and Self Instaling?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SinFinite, Aug 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Hello, Tech Support Guy community! How would i find out what ram is compatible with my laptop and would it be a bad idea to self instal it if i'm not firmiliar with building computers.
     
  2. Lax2006

    Lax2006

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    If you need to find out what types of RAM is compatible with your laptop you just need to find out the Motherboard that's in it. RAM is a fairly easy upgrade to do, you should be able to do it by yourself.
     
  3. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    What would be the quickest way to find out what motherboard is in my laptop?
     
  4. Lax2006

    Lax2006

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    What kind of laptop do you have (model and make)?
     
  5. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    I have an HP
     
  6. Lax2006

    Lax2006

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    What model is it? HP....
     
  7. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Pavilion? Lol
     
  8. Lax2006

    Lax2006

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    You got a manual or something with the laptop right? It should say what it is on that.
     
  9. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Theres no possible way to find out the name of the motherboard by checking something on the computer itself? Im not sure where my manual is right now.
     
  10. Lax2006

    Lax2006

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    It should tell you in the BIOS when you start up the computer.
     
  11. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    I think i found it

    Motherboard Make: Hewlett-Packard
    Motherboard Model: 30A6
    Motherboard Version: 56.23
     
  12. batharoy

    batharoy

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    186
  13. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
  14. SinFinite

    SinFinite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Wow i can't unscrew the cover of my ram slots for the life of me, any trick to this?
     
  15. batharoy

    batharoy

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Looks like those would work just fine.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/614011

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice