1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

C/C++ and Java

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by gfxrelay, Jul 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gfxrelay

gfxrelay Thread Starter

Hola I am new to programming and was wondering if any one knows of a good IDE for C and C++. Also what sthe difference between VC++ and DEVC++?:confused:

2. john56

john56

both vc++ and devc++ are good.
    I use notepad++ as a editor, and source insight as a source browser under Windows.

3. fraq

fraq

Hi I was also wondering about that

4. gfxrelay

gfxrelay Thread Starter

Hi thnx for the reply I was looking around and was wondering about C# would it be better to go of one shot and learn C# or rather go for C. Also is C# crossplatform?

5. tobias2143

tobias2143

I wouldn't suggest learning C - just plain C - as a first language. There are lots of things that can go wrong, and the complier doesn't protect you, it will warn you, but won't stop you live Java will.

6. gfxrelay

gfxrelay Thread Starter

Hola I thought so gonna taka a while but I think it will be better to learn c or C++ thnx for the reply (y)

7. Shadow2531

Shadow2531

The DevC++ IDE uses the Windows port of the gcc collection. It's called Mingw.

I use Mingw, but I use it without an IDE. I just type the code in a text editor, save it as a .cpp file and type the command to compile at the command line.