1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

C:\> entries on start up

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Chunter, Jan 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    on boot up,just before the desktop loads,i get this

    C:\>
    C:\>

    it doesn't harm my computer in anyway,nor does it slow it down i just want rid of them.
    they are not in my autoexec.bat or my config.sys .
    how do i get rid of them ?
    thx in advance
    Chunter
     
  2. pvc9

    pvc9

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,427
    Each C:\> you see is just a [space] in the autoexec.bat file. Open autoexec.bat using Notepad and click on Edit, Select All, again click on Edit->Delete. Save and close autoexec.bat. Restart the computer, see if that helps.
     
  3. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    i have 2 autoexec bats..one in the main c drive (its empty) and another autoexec in c\windows\command\ebd which contains the following info

    @ECHO OFF
    set EXPAND=YES
    SET DIRCMD=/O:N
    set LglDrv=27 * 26 Z 25 Y 24 X 23 W 22 V 21 U 20 T 19 S 18 R 17 Q 16 P 15
    set LglDrv=%LglDrv% O 14 N 13 M 12 L 11 K 10 J 9 I 8 H 7 G 6 F 5 E 4 D 3 C
    cls
    call setramd.bat %LglDrv%
    set temp=c:\
    set tmp=c:\
    path=%RAMD%:\;a:\;%CDROM%:\
    copy command.com %RAMD%:\ > NUL
    set comspec=%RAMD%:\command.com
    copy extract.exe %RAMD%:\ > NUL
    copy readme.txt %RAMD%:\ > NUL

    :ERROR
    IF EXIST ebd.cab GOTO EXT
    echo Please insert Windows 98 Startup Disk 2
    echo.
    pause
    GOTO ERROR

    :EXT
    %RAMD%:\extract /y /e /l %RAMD%: ebd.cab > NUL
    echo The diagnostic tools were successfully loaded to drive %RAMD%.
    echo.

    IF "%config%"=="NOCD" GOTO QUIT
    IF "%config%"=="HELP" GOTO HELP
    LH %ramd%:\MSCDEX.EXE /D:mscd001 /L:%CDROM%
    echo.
    GOTO QUIT

    :HELP
    cls
    call help.bat
    echo Your computer will now restart and the startup menu will appear.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    restart.com
    GOTO QUIT

    :QUIT
    echo To get help, type HELP and press ENTER.
    echo.
    rem clean up environment variables
    set CDROM=
    set LglDrv=



    should i delete the two lines containing

    set temp=c:\
    set tmp=c:\

    ?

    cheers
     
  4. pvc9

    pvc9

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,427
    2 autoexec.bat files in C:\ :confused:

    Thats weird, you've to modify the file in the C:\ and not the one in C:\Windows\Command\ebd.

    Are you sure there are 2 files? Check again and post back with the contents of autoexec.bat(files) in the C:\. I guess one of them is autoexec.bak

    BTW, what OS are you using? If its Windows 98 then try this -

    Start->Run->msconfig [enter]

    Click on Selective Startup and uncheck the option Process Autoexec.bat file. Click on Apply, Ok. Restart the computer.

    NO, don't delete those 2 lines.
     
  5. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    If the one in C:\ is in fact empty, just delete the file.
    OR
    Add this line as the very first one.

    @Echo Off
     
  6. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    the one in c is empty and i uncheck autoexec and config.sys in msconfig with 98 all the time,am i safe to delete the one in C ?
    and its not a bak file.
     
  7. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    If the file is empty, then it is safe to delete it.
    But, as I said, if you just want to not see the C:\ prompts, AND still want to have the file around, just add the @Echo Off line.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111394

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice