C:\> entries on start up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Chunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
78
on boot up,just before the desktop loads,i get this

C:\>
C:\>

it doesn't harm my computer in anyway,nor does it slow it down i just want rid of them.
they are not in my autoexec.bat or my config.sys .
how do i get rid of them ?
thx in advance
Chunter
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
Each C:\> you see is just a [space] in the autoexec.bat file. Open autoexec.bat using Notepad and click on Edit, Select All, again click on Edit->Delete. Save and close autoexec.bat. Restart the computer, see if that helps.
 

Chunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
78
i have 2 autoexec bats..one in the main c drive (its empty) and another autoexec in c\windows\command\ebd which contains the following info

@ECHO OFF
set EXPAND=YES
SET DIRCMD=/O:N
set LglDrv=27 * 26 Z 25 Y 24 X 23 W 22 V 21 U 20 T 19 S 18 R 17 Q 16 P 15
set LglDrv=%LglDrv% O 14 N 13 M 12 L 11 K 10 J 9 I 8 H 7 G 6 F 5 E 4 D 3 C
cls
call setramd.bat %LglDrv%
set temp=c:\
set tmp=c:\
path=%RAMD%:\;a:\;%CDROM%:\
copy command.com %RAMD%:\ > NUL
set comspec=%RAMD%:\command.com
copy extract.exe %RAMD%:\ > NUL
copy readme.txt %RAMD%:\ > NUL

:ERROR
IF EXIST ebd.cab GOTO EXT
echo Please insert Windows 98 Startup Disk 2
echo.
pause
GOTO ERROR

:EXT
%RAMD%:\extract /y /e /l %RAMD%: ebd.cab > NUL
echo The diagnostic tools were successfully loaded to drive %RAMD%.
echo.

IF "%config%"=="NOCD" GOTO QUIT
IF "%config%"=="HELP" GOTO HELP
LH %ramd%:\MSCDEX.EXE /D:mscd001 /L:%CDROM%
echo.
GOTO QUIT

:HELP
cls
call help.bat
echo Your computer will now restart and the startup menu will appear.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
restart.com
GOTO QUIT

:QUIT
echo To get help, type HELP and press ENTER.
echo.
rem clean up environment variables
set CDROM=
set LglDrv=



should i delete the two lines containing

set temp=c:\
set tmp=c:\

?

cheers
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Messages
6,427
2 autoexec.bat files in C:\ :confused:

Thats weird, you've to modify the file in the C:\ and not the one in C:\Windows\Command\ebd.

Are you sure there are 2 files? Check again and post back with the contents of autoexec.bat(files) in the C:\. I guess one of them is autoexec.bak

BTW, what OS are you using? If its Windows 98 then try this -

Start->Run->msconfig [enter]

Click on Selective Startup and uncheck the option Process Autoexec.bat file. Click on Apply, Ok. Restart the computer.

NO, don't delete those 2 lines.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
If the one in C:\ is in fact empty, just delete the file.
OR
Add this line as the very first one.

@Echo Off
 

Chunter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
78
the one in c is empty and i uncheck autoexec and config.sys in msconfig with 98 all the time,am i safe to delete the one in C ?
and its not a bak file.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
If the file is empty, then it is safe to delete it.
But, as I said, if you just want to not see the C:\ prompts, AND still want to have the file around, just add the @Echo Off line.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top