1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

C# Question

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by pcpro17, Oct 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pcpro17

pcpro17 Thread Starter

Hello. I'm relatively new to C#. I've got a C# application that I inheritted from the previous guy here, and I need to make some modifications to it. I've added an About box/form to the Help menu. Does anyone know how/where I can link the About option in the Help menu to the About box, so that it will appear? Where is that kind of launch code usually located?

Also, this application has a bunch of auxillary windows that launch when it starts. Where is this code usually located. I recall that MFC had a function for Paint. Is this does the same way with C#?

I am using C# 2005 Express Edition.

Thanks. :)

2. artur02

artur02

I think you've added an About menu item to the Help menu. Just select your About menu item and doubleclick on it. It will create a method which will execute when you click on the menu item.
    Simply instanciate your About box and add the .Show() or .ShowDialog() code to this method.

Auxillary windows: Check Program.cs and OnLoad() methods for them.

3. pcpro17

pcpro17 Thread Starter

Hello artur. Thank you for the assistance. I can kind of see what you are talking about. However, I'm still having a little trouble. Maybe some additional details will help. (Unfortunately, I cannot give out too much due to legal restrictions...)

In frmMain.cs I have this code:
    Code:
            private void aboutToolStripMenuItem1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
    //            AboutBox1.ActiveForm.ShowDialog();
            }

And in AboutBox1.cs there is this:
    Code:
            private void AboutBox1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)