Cable access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

skyman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
1,234
I am considering going to cable internet access that has come available to my area. My cable provider offers:

1.5M bps - 128 kbps or 1.5M bps - 256 kbps.

Naturally the 256 is more money than the 128. Is there a great amount of difference in speed for me to spend the higher dollar
for 256?

Thanks for your advice...

dkyman
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
115
Hi skyman.

Yes, there will be a difference in speed between the two. Although for normal surfing you may not really notice a huge difference. However, if you do a lot of downloading, then you would really benefit from the extra speed. I've recently upgraded from 128 kbps to 600 kbps, and even with that difference, the surfing speed is massively different; but downloads are much quicker now.

Hope that helps,

belenus :cool:
 

skyman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
1,234
Thanks for the information. Not familiar with cable access.

Someone told me that the cable modem needed tweaking to get the best out of it. Does anyone know about this?

Thank you...

skyman
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
If I'm not mistaken, what they are telling you is you get 1.5M or 1500kbps download and 128kbps upload or
1500kbps download and 256kbps upload.
The download speed is the same and the difference is in uploading.
Downloading is when you are receiving a picture, program etc from the internet. Uploading is when you put something like on a ftp site or website, sending info.
Example IE you put the site in and hit enter, it uploads, when the page loads to IE, download.
Unless you are doing a lot of uploading, like for work on a web site, I wouldn't pay the difference.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Go to speedguide.net
They have tons of tweaks, patches and info there for cable connections.
 

skyman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
1,234
Del,

Thanks for the information. For my use the 128 would work well.

This will save me some money.

Again, thanks...


skyman
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
Originally posted by skyman:
Someone told me that the cable modem needed tweaking to get the best out of it. Does anyone know about this?
actually it's the connection and your PC that gets tweaked (various settings you can adjust to optimize the transfer efficiency), not the modem (which is controlled at the ISP or cable company's end of things - and usually quite illegal to tamper with)

another good site is http://www.dslreports.com
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top